Soldiers’ Tower shows battle scars
August 20, 2010
Eminent war memorial undergoes much needed repair
TORONTO, ON – Major restoration is about to commence this summer on the first of a multi-stage project to repair the Soldiers’ Tower at University of Toronto.
E.R.A. Architects Inc. will be working in conjunction with Clifford Restoration Ltd., both among the top building restoration firms in Canada. The job is being managed by the University of Toronto’s Department of Facilities and Services. The first phase amounts to $800,000, which has been raised through a fundraising appeal initiated by the Soldiers’ Tower Committee and matched by the University. Total cost of the restoration over 4 years could reach $1.8 million and the University will seek funds for the balance through a special drive.
The upper masonry and pinnacles will be the first to yield to the stonemason’s blade. “The pinnacles are the most vulnerable stone elements on this massively constructed tower. Not only are they exposed on four faces, but they also take the full force of the weather, and in particular winter freezing” said E.R.A. Architects. Restoration will begin on the northwest pinnacle.
Originally built in 1924, the Soldiers’ Tower memorial is inscribed with the names of the 1,185 men and women lost to the University in the First and Second World Wars. Today, through additions to the artifacts collection in the Memorial Room inside the Tower, this iconic building also affords recognition to those University of Toronto people who served in other conflicts in which Canada and its allies have been engaged. The Tower houses the only University-based carillon in Canada, and it is the site of the University’s annual Service of Remembrance.
For more information, contact:
Administrator, Alumni Committees
University Advancement, University of Toronto
Photographs are available.