Media Releases

Celebrated volunteer to receive honorary degree

November 3, 2010

TORONTO, ON – Approximately 4,200 students will graduate from the University of Toronto this fall, at convocation ceremonies taking place from Monday, November 8, to Friday, November 12. All ceremonies will be held in Convocation Hall, 31 King’s College Circle.

The University will also confer an honorary degree, recognizing extraordinary achievement in community service.

Dorothy Shoichet will be recognized for her leadership and tireless volunteer efforts, particularly through her steadfast commitment to education and the arts. Her accomplishments are of such excellence that they provide, through example, inspiration and leadership to the graduates of the University. She will speak at the convocation ceremony to be held on November 10.

Members of the media are welcome to attend convocation ceremonies but are asked to confirm their attendance in advance by calling U of T media relations at 416-978-0100.

The schedule of convocation ceremonies is as follows:

  • Monday, November 8, 2010, 1 p.m.: Marla Sokolowski, U of T University Professor  in the Department of Biology, and director of the life sciences division of the Academy of Sciences of the Royal Society of Canada
  • Monday, November 8, 2010, 6 p.m.: Natalie Zemon Davis has been called “one of the greatest living historians” and is the recipient of the 2010 Holberg International Memorial Prize. She is a U of T adjunct professor of history and anthropology, professor of medieval studies and Senior Fellow in the Centre for Comparative Literature
  • Tuesday, November 9, 2010, 11 a.m.: Janice Gross Stein, U of T University Professor, Department of Political Science, and director of U of T’s Munk School of Global Affairs is one of Canada’s most respected experts on politics and current affairs
  • Tuesday, November 9, 2010, 6 p.m.: Cheryl Regehr, vice-provost for academic programs and U of T professor in the Faculties of Social Work, Law, and the Institute for Medical Sciences
  • Wednesday, November 10, 2010, 6 p.m.: Dorothy Cohen Shoichet*, a business leader best known for her tireless volunteer efforts and support for education and the arts
  • Friday, November 12, 2010, 9:30 a.m.: Laura-Ann Petitto, a renowned cognitive neuroscientist, U of T professor in the Department of Psychology, Senior Scientist, and Director  “Genes, Brain, and Mind Cognitive Neuroscience Laboratory for Language, Bilingualism, and Child Development”
  • Friday, November 12, 2010, 2 p.m.: Rosemary Sullivan, U of T professor and Canada Research Chair in Creative Non-Fiction and Biographical Studies is founding director of the MA program in English in the field of creative writing

* Honorary Graduand

For more information, please contact:

Media Relations
University of Toronto