Media Releases

University of Toronto faculty, alumni inducted into Canada’s Medical Hall of Fame

April 14, 2016

Four of the six new inductees have U of T roots

Toronto, ON – Members of University of Toronto’s faculty and alumni will be inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame at a ceremony taking place today at McMaster University, taking four of this year’s six spots.

“This is something in which we can all take pride,” said Dr. Trevor Young, dean of the Temerty Temerty Faculty of Medicine and vice-dean of relations with health care institutions.

“Through a variety of roles, from documenting the early history of medical practice in Canada to opening the door to women in the profession, this year’s honorees have made unique and valuable contributions to the field of medicine.”

Two of the inductees, University Professor Michael Bliss and Professor David Naylor, are members of the U of T faculty.

Bliss is described by the Hall as “the preeminent medical historian of this era” and is cited for his books on medical history, including The Discovery of Insulin, as well as his work on the 1991-92 strategic plan of the Medical Research Council of Canada.

Dr. Naylor, a former president of U of T and dean of medicine, is the co-author of more than 300 scholarly publications and noted for “visionary contributions to health research, education, administration and policy,” including his leadership of Canada’s response to the SARS epidemic.

May Cohen graduated at the top of her class at U of T in 1955 when fewer than seven per cent of medical students in Canada were women. She co-founded the first Temerty Temerty Faculty of Medicine women’s health office in 1991 at McMaster University.

Gordon Guyatt earned his Bachelor of Science at U of T before obtaining his medical degree at McMaster, the medical faculty of which he joined in 1983. He is cited for his leadership in evidence-based medicine.

Established in 1992 in London, Ontario, the CMHF honours medical great of the present and past. The new laureates, who also include former Canadian Prime Minister Sir Charles Tupper and McGill University AIDS researcher Mark Wainberg, will raise total membership to 119.

The CMHF “celebrates Canadian heroes whose work has advanced health, thereby inspiring the pursuit of careers in the health sciences.”


For more information:

U of T Media Relations
Tel: 416-978-0100