Media Releases

U of T scientists honoured with inventor of the year award

March 8, 2011

TORONTO, ON – Nine highly regarded University of Toronto scientists were honoured in the first-ever Inventor of the Year competion yesterday, March 7, 2011. The awards were presented at a special ceremony at the MaRS Centre.

The awards recognize U of T inventors or teams of inventors who have made significant contributions in three areas:

• Information and Computer Technology
• Social Sciences and Humanities
• Biomedical and Life Sciences; Engineering and Physical Sciences

“The purpose of the Inventor of the Year program is to recognize the superb contributions U of T scientists make to global society through their inventions,” says Professor Paul Young, vice president (research). “By tackling society’s most pressing problems, these inventors ensure a better world for us today and in the future.”

The event recognized a variety of seminal inventions ranging from high-performance earthquake resistant damping devices to a low-cost ultrasensitive microelectronic chip, used for disease diagnosis.

The 2011 Inventor of the Year award winners were:

Biomedical and Life Sciences
Scott Tanner, Department of Chemistry
Shana Kelley, Faculties of Pharmacy and Medicine
Andrei Yudin, Department of Chemistry

Engineering and Physical Sciences
Yu Sun, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Constantin Christopoulos, Department of Civil Engineering
Geoffrey Ozin, Department of Chemistry

Information and Computer Technology/Social Sciences and Humanities
Nick Koudas, Department of Computer Science
Ronald Baecker, Department of Computer Science
V. Kumar Murty, Department of Mathematics

– 30 –

NOTE: More detailed information about the winners and their work is available at

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto
Media Relations