Media Releases

$1,873,485 in Canada Foundation for Innovation funds awarded to U of T Researchers

January 22, 2015

TORONTO, ON – Eleven U of T researchers have been selected as recipients of the Canada Foundation for Innovation’s John R. Evans Leaders funds totalling $1,873,485.

The John R. Evans Leaders Fund was established to assist institutions in attracting and retaining talented researchers.

Candidates for funding must be either recognized leaders or have demonstrated the potential for excellence in their field of research who are engaged in or embarking upon original, internationally competitive and high quality research or technology development. They must also be a current faculty member with a full-time academic position.

U of T researchers receiving John R. Evans Leaders funding are:

Joyce Poon, Applied Science and Engineering – Integrated Quantum Photonics for Secure Communications

Dirk Bernhardt-Walther, Psychology – Neural mechanisms of natural scene perception

Amy Bilton, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering – Laboratory for Prototyping Energy and Water Systems

Eric Diller, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering – Laboratory for Micro-Robotics Research

Martin Krkosek, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology – Laboratory of Population Dynamics

Angela Schoellig, Applied Science and Engineering – Indoor/Outdoor Testbed for Aerial and Ground Multi-Robot Research

Martin Yaffe, Medical Biophysics – An Expanded Integrated Cancer Research Biomatrix

Gisele Azimi, Materials Science and Engineering – Extraction, Processing, and Recycling of Strategic Materials

Nicholas Mandrak, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology – Biodiversity and Conservation of Fishes Laboratory

Elodie Passeport, Civil Engineering – Stable isotope facility for improved understanding of the fate and removal of emerging contaminants in water

Joel Watts, Biochemistry – Infrastructure for Studying Self-Propagating Protein Aggregates

“It is wonderful that so many of our researchers will benefit from the support of the Canada Foundation for Innovation through the John R. Evans Leaders Fund,” said Dr. Peter Lewis, interim vice-president of Research and Innovation at U of T. “We can’t wait to learn about the discoveries that will surely arise from the recipients’ research.”


Jenny Hall
University of Toronto
Senior Research Communications Officer