Media Releases

Winter experts

January 4, 2016

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to the winter season.

EXTREME COLD

Weather
Climate change, global warming
Hudson Bay, polar bears
William Gough
Associate Professor
U of T Scarborough Campus
Department of Geography
Office: 416-287-7245
gough@utsc.utoronto.ca

Housing, rental and subsidized housing
Homelessness, poverty, social policy
David Hulchanski
Professor, Dr. Chow Yei Ching Chair in Housing
St.George Campus
Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work
Office: 416-978-1973
david.hulchanski@utoronto.ca
www.hulchanski.ca

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS, PHYSICAL ACTIVITY, HEALTHY EATING, ROMANCE

New Year’s resolutions and changing habits
Value of taking holidays
Steve Joordens
Full Professor
Department of Psychology
Office: 416-287-7469
joordens@utsc.utoronto.ca

Physical activity and exercise
Guy Faulkner
Professor
Faculty of Physical Education and Health
Office: 416-946-7949
Cell: 416-433-4674
guy.faulkner@utoronto.ca

Eco-friendly diet
Nutrition and healthy eating
David Jenkins
Professor
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Department of Medicine
Canada Research Chair in Nutrition and Metabolism
Office: 416-978-4752
SMH : 416-867-7475
Cell : 416-732-8705
cyril.kendall@utoronto.ca

New Year’s resolutions
Dieting, eating
Janet Polivy
Professor
Department of Psychology
Department of Psychiatry
Home: 416-968-3942
polivy@psych.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews. Only call between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m.

Decisions about romantic relationships
Improving and maintaining relationship quality
Relationship turning points
Samantha Joel
PhD student
Department of Psychology
Office: Not Available
samantha.joel@utoronto.ca
http://www.psych.utoronto.ca/users/spa/students/joel.php

PUBLIC HEALTH, SEASON COLDS & FLUS

Health services research
Urban and inner city health
Stephen Hwang
Associate Professor; Director; Research Scientist
Department of Medicine
Office: 416-864-5991
hwangs@smh.ca

-30-

For more information, contact:
U of T Media Relations
416-978-0100
media.relations@utoronto.ca