Media Releases

Valentine’s Day

January 31, 2013

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues relating to Valentine’s Day.

Emotions
Psychology of reading and writing fiction
Keith Oatley
Professor Emeritus
Department of Applied Psychology and Human Development
OISE
Home: 416-961-7969
Keith.oatley@utoronto.ca

History of marriage
History of mistresses
Elizabeth Abbott
Research Associate
Trinity College
St. George
Other languages: French
abbott@trinity.utoronto.ca

Family, couple therapy
Blake Woodside
Department of Psychiatry
St. George
Office: 416-340-4445
b.woodside@utoronto.ca
Other languages: French
*NOTE: Best to email.

Sex addiction
James Cantor
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry
Faculty of Medicine
Office: 416-535-8501, ext. 4078
Cell: 416-831-4541
James_cantor@camh.net

Popular romance literature (Harlequin romances)
Angela Miles
Professor
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
University of Toronto
St. George
Office: 416-978-0809
amiles@oise.utoronto.ca
*NOTE: please call only between 12 p.m. and 8 p.m.

Literary translation
Modern and contemporary poetry
Scandinavian poetry (Norwegian, Swedish, and Danish) 

Roger Greenwald
Senior Fellow
St.George Campus
Innis College
Faculty of Arts and Science
Office: 416-523-7737
roger@chass.utoronto.ca
Languages: Norwegian

Dieting, eating
Chocolate cravings
Janet Polivy
Department of Psychology
Department of Psychiatry
UTM
Office: 905-828-3959
polivy@psych.utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Best to email.

Dating
Decisions about romantic relationships
Romance 

Samantha Joel
PhD student
St.George Campus
Department of Psychology
Office: Not Available
samantha.joel@utoronto.ca
http://www.psych.utoronto.ca/users/spa/students/joel.php

Facebook
New Media
Romantic relationships
Sexuality 

Amy Muise
Post-doctoral Fellow
U of T Mississauga Campus
Department of Psychology
Office: Not available
Mobile: 905-630-5724
amy.muise@utoronto.ca
www.amymuise.com

Marketing and the commodification of Valentine’s Day
Andrij Myroslaw Brygidyr
Affiliate Professor and Lecturer
Rotman School of Management
St. George
Office: 416-503-3343, ext. 102
Home/Cell: 416-930-3944
andrijb@aamerch.com
Other languages: Ukrainian
*NOTE: Best to email.

-30-

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto media relations
416-978-0100
Media.relations@utoronto.ca