Media Releases

Valentine’s Day Experts

February 2, 2011

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues relating to Valentine’s Day.

Romantic love
Emotions

Keith Oatley
Professor Emeritus
Department of Human Development & Applied Psychology
OISE
Home: 416-961-7969
Keith.oatley@utoronto.ca

Interpersonal Relationships
Geoff MacDonald
Associate Professor
Department of Psychology
Office: 416-978-3840
Cell: 416-509-8225
gmacdonald@psych.utoronto.ca

Relationship stress, problems, treatment
Healthy couple relationships (marriage)
Gay relationships
Sustaining intimacy and romantic relationships

Dr. Douglas Saunders
Assistant Professor
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
St. George
Office: 416-597-2614, ext. 2
Douglas.saunders@utoronto.ca

History of marriage
History of mistresses

Elizabeth Abbott
Research Associate
Trinity College
St. George
Other languages: French
abbott@trinity.utoronto.ca

Family, couple therapy
Dr. Blake Woodside
Department of Psychiatry
St. George
Office: 416-340-4445
b.woodside@utoronto.ca
Other languages: French
Note: Best to email

Sex addiction
Dr. James Cantor
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry
Faculty of Medicine
Office: 416-535-8501, ext. 4078
Cell: 416-831-4541
James_cantor@camh.net

Popular romance literature (Harlequin romances)
Angela Miles
Professor
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
University of Toronto
St. George
Office: 416-978-0809
amiles@oise.utoronto.ca
Note: please call only between 12 p.m. and 8 p.m.

English poetry
Valentine’s poems
Ian Lancashire
Professor
Department of English
New College
Centre for Medieval Studies
St. George
Office: 416-978-8279
Home: 416-231-2659
Ian.lancashire@utoronto.ca

Modern and contemporary poetry
Roger Greenwald
Senior Fellow
Innis College
Home: 416-532-7737
roger@chass.utoronto.ca

Choosing romantic music
Response of the body and brain to music

Lee Bartel
Professor
Faculty of Music
Home: 416-489-2822
Cell: 416-524-2822
lbartel@chass.utoronto.ca

Depression
Anxiety disorders
Seasonal affective disorder
Happiness
Mark Berber
Psychiatrist
Lecturer
Department of Psychiatry
UTM
Office: 905-472-5733
Cell: 416-801-0991
mberber@cnsmedicine.com

Food Culture
Shyon Baumann
Assistant Professor
Department of Sociology
Centre for the Study of the United States
Office: 416-946-5900
Home: 416-530-1680
Shyon.baumann@utoronto.ca

Dieting, eating
Chocolate cravings

Janet Polivy
Department of Psychology
Department of Psychiatry
UTM
Office: 905-828-3959
polivy@psych.utoronto.ca
Note: Best to email

Marketing and the commodification of Valentine’s Day
Andrij Myroslaw Brygidyr
Affiliate Professor and Lecturer
Rotman School of Management
St. George
Office: 416-503-3343, ext. 102
Home/Cell: 416-930-3944
andrij@aamerch.com
Other languages: Ukrainian
Note: Best to email

Marketing, advertising, branding
David Dunne
Adjunct Profesor
Rotman School of Management
St. George
Office: 416-978-8643
Cell: 416-666-0687
dunne@rotman.utoronto.ca

Advertising
Cinema
Popular Culture
Garry Martin Leonard
Professor
Department of English
Literature and Film Studies
UTSC
Office: 416-287-7141
Home: 416-466-6962 (Please call only on weekends)
leonardgarry@hotmail.com
Note: Best to email

Blood diamonds and the ethics of diamond production
Diamond mining, exploration and processing
William Frederick Bawden
Professor
Division of Mineral Engineering
Office: 416-978-4571
Cell: 416-294-1427
bawdenw@ecf.utoronto.ca

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto media relations
416-978-0100
Media.relations@utoronto.ca