Media Releases

Summer experts

June 6, 2011

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues relating to the upcoming summer season.



Seasonal affective disorder

Mark Berber
Lecturer
UTM , Department of Psychiatry
Office: 905-472-5733
mberber@cnsmedicine.com

Insects
Mark Fitzpatrick
Assistant Professor
Integrative Behaviour and Neuroscience Group
UTSC, Department of Biology
Office: 416-208-2703
Cell: 416-587-7246
mark.fitzpatrick@utoronto.ca

Behaviour of insects and other animals
Entomology

Darryl Gwynne
Professor
UTM, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Office: 905-828-3892
Cell: 905-703-1500
darryl.gwynne@utoronto.ca

Biological control
Invasive species
Forest insects (ecology and management)
Insecticides and pest management

Forestry
Sandra M. Smith
Dean for the Faculty of Forestry
St. George
Office: 416-978-5482
Home: 416-324-8965
s.smith.a@utoronto.ca

Archeological botany, origin of agriculture
Gary W. Crawford
Professor
UTM, Department of Anthropology
Office: 905-828-3783
g.crawford@utoronto.ca

Ancient Greek flowering plants and trees
M. Eleanor Irwin
Associate Professor Emerita
UTSC, Dean’s Designate
Department of Humanities
Home: 416-445-3243
irwin@utsc.utoronto.ca

Plant biology
Plant growth and development
Plants and climate change
Plants and drought
Genetic engineering
Genetically modified organisms
Plant biotechnology
Plant genetics and genomics
Zoos
Malcolm Campbell
Professor; Vice-Principal Research (UTSC)
UTSC, Department of Biological Sciences
Cell: 647-267-7714
malcolm.campbell@utoronto.ca

Ecology of plant populations and communities
Seed ecology
Peter Kotanen
Associate Professor
UTM, Department of Biology
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Office: 905-828-5365
peter.kotanen@utoronto.ca

Non-wood forest products (bamboo, rattan, medicinal plants)
Cherla B. Sastry
Adjunct Professor
Faculty of Forestry
Institute for Environmental Sciences
St. George
Home: 416-335-9949
csastry@rogers.com
Other languages: Telugu, Hindi

Parasitic plant biology
Plant classification
Plant evolution and systematic
Sasa Stefanovic
Associate Professor
UTM, Department of Biology
St. George, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Office: 905-569-4271
sasa.stefanovic@utoronto.ca

Impact of climate and environmental changes on Canadian ecosystems
Soil science
Global and environmental change
Natural resource management and ecosystem restoration

Nathan Basiliko
Assistant Professor
UTM, Department of Geography
Office: 905-569-4515
Cell: 647-261-3583
Home: 289-997-6283
nathan.basiliko@utoronto.ca

Impact of climate change
River processes
Geomorphology

Joe Desloges
Professor
Department of Geography and Program in Planning
Woodsworth College
Cell: 416-523-6032
desloges@geog.utoronto.ca

Atmospheric measurements
Ozone depletion
Climate change
Air quality
Kimberly Strong
Professor
Department of Physics
St. George
Office: 416-946-3217
Office 2: 416-978-2933
strong@atmosp.physics@utoronto.ca

Relationship of environment, climate change and air quality to human health
Kirsty Duncan
Adjunct Professor
Department of Geography
St. George
Office: 416-747-6003
Office 2: 613-995-4702
Home: 416-241-6326
kirsty.duncan@utoronto.ca

Climate change and global carbon cycling
Soil carbon sequestration and climate change
Soil contamination
Soil toxicology

Myrna J. Simpson
Associate Professor
UTSC, Department of Environmental Science
Department of Chemistry
Department of Geography
Office: 416-287-7234
myrna.simpson@utoronto.ca

Sociology of physical activity and health
Cultural geographies of children and youth’s physical education and activity environments
Cultural geographies of health and exercise
Gender/sexuality and sports environments
Socio-cultural studies of play

Dr. Caroline Fusco
Assistant Professor
Faculty of Physical Education and Health
Office: 416-946-7717
c.fusco@utoronto.ca

Health benefits of vacations
Laughter as the best medicine
Dealing with grief
Stress management

Mel Borins
Associate Professor
Department of Family and Community Medicine
St. George
Home: 416-533-6488
melborins@hotmail.com

Parental influences on children’s physical activity and recreation
Helen Jefferson Lenskyj
Professor Emerita
Sociology and Equity Studies in Education
Faculty of Physical Education and Health
Ontario Institute of Studies in Education (OISE)
St. George
Office: 416-978-0447
Cell: 647-206-9345
helen.lenskyj@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Unavailable from June 15 – 25

Recreation and summer camps for special needs children
Joel A. Kirsh
Associate Professor
Department of Pediatrics
St. George
Office: 416-813-6140
Hospital pager: 416-813-7500
joel.kirsh@sickkids.ca

Early development and learning
Family support and kindergarten
Parent involvement
Parenting and young children
Parents’ connections to schools and children’s services
Carl Corter
Professor, Dr. Eric Jackman Institute of Child Study
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE)
St. George
Office: 416-934-4513
carl.corter@utoronto.ca

Youth and issues of social cohesion
Theatre and arts education

Kathleen Gallagher
Professor, Canada Research Chair
Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE)
St. George
Office: 416-978-0160
Home: 416-960-5633
kathleen.gallagher@utoronto.ca

Dermatology

Cheryl Rosen
Associate Professor
Head, Division of Dermatology
416-603-5952
c.rosen@utoronto.ca

Dermatology
Kucy Pon
Assistant Professor
Dermatology
416-480-4905
kucy.pon@utoronto.ca

Dermatology
Elena Pope
Associate Professor
Head, Section of Dermatology
416-813-9883
Elena.pope@sickkids.ca

 

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto media relations
416-978-0100
media.relations@utoronto.ca