Media Releases

Sochi Olympic Games Experts

January 16, 2014

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues relating to the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia, from February 6 to 23.

SPORTS:

Athletes’ rights in sport
Canadian sport history
History and politics of sport and the Olympics
Human rights in sports 

Bruce Kidd
Professor
St.George Campus
Warden, Hart House
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-2436
Email: bruce.kidd@utoronto.ca

High risk sports
Social issues related to sports
Sport, policy and politics 

Peter Donnelly
Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-946-5071
Mobile: 905-617-6020
peter.donnelly@utoronto.ca
NOTE: February 6 – 20 Professor Donnelly will be in France where he can be reached at:
Home: + 33 1 43 26 89 64
Cell: + 33 7 87 70 39 22

Abuse and harassment in sport
Eating disorders in female gymnasts
Psychological aspects of athletic injury
Psychological aspects of sports, exercise and stress
Psychological stress (athletes, coaches and parents of athletes)
Psychological stress in athletes
Retirement transitions of elite athletes 

Gretchen Kerr
Vice Dean, Academic Affairs
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-6190
Email: gretchen.kerr@utoronto.ca

ADVERTISING AND MARKETING:

Business law, corporate law
Governance
Sports marketing 

Richard Powers
National Academic Director
Canadian Olympic Committee, Governance and Ethics Committee member
Director and Treasurer for Commonwealth Games Canada
Director of Rugby Canada
St.George Campus
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-946-8610
Email: powers@rotman.utoronto.ca

Governance and organizational design
Leadership and strategy
Management in food industry 

Jim Fisher
Professor Emeritus
St. George Campus
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-946-5591
jfisher@rotman.utoronto.ca

Advertising and marketing
David Soberman
Professor of Marketing
Canadian National Chair in Strategic Marketing
Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-5445
Cell: 416-420-4876
Email: David.Soberman@rotman.utoronto.ca

PHYSICAL ABILITY/PHYSIOLOGY/DOPING:

Exercise and environmental extremes
Exercise and performance
Exercise pharmacology
High intensity exercise
Human skeletal muscle metabolism 

Ira Jacobs
Dean and Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-5909
Email: dean.fpeh@utoronto.ca

Exercise and aging
Exercise and heart function, heart disease
Exercise physiology
Prolonged exercise and heart function
Cardiac consequences of endurance exercise
Cardiovascular limits to exercise performance

Jack Goodman
Associate Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Department of Medicine
Office: 416-978-6095
Mobile: 705-767-3381
Email: jack.goodman@utoronto.ca

Exercise physiology
Human performance in extreme conditions 

Greg D. Wells
Assistant Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Faculty of Medicine
Department of Anaesthesia
Office: 416-978-3244
Mobile: 416-710-4618
Email: greg.wells@utoronto.ca
Languages: French
www.drgregwells.com

Physiology, biochemistry, some doping issues
Muscle physiology

Marius Locke
Associate Professor
Associate Dean, Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
St.George Campus
Office: 416-978-7055
Email: marius.locke@utoronto.ca

Injury prevention
Concussions and other brain injuries
Spinal injuries
Charles H. Tator
Professor
Division of Neurosurgery
Department of Surgery
Office: 416-603-5889
Cell: 647-680-4643
Home: 705-633-5291
Email: charles.tator@uhn.on.ca
http://www.surg.med.utoronto.ca/faculty/Tator.html

Sports medicine
Howard A. Winston MD, CCFP, FCFP,
Dip. Sport Med. (CASEM)
Medical Director, Centre for Health & Sports Medicine
Assistant Professor
Department of Family & Community Medicine
Office: 416-789-2476
Pager: 416-381-8495
Email: h.winston@rogers.com
http://www.chsm.net

Stress and anxiety
Neil Alexander Rector
Professor; Psychologist & Research Scientist
Department of Psychiatry
Sunnybrook Institute
Office: 416-480-6100 x 2233
Cell: 416-432-4587
Email: neil.rector@sunnybrook.ca

Bioethics, medical ethics
Medical and health law 

Bernard Dickens
Professor Emeritus
St.George Campus
Faculty of Law
Joint Centre for Bioethics
Cell: 941-474-3908
Email: bernard.dickens@utoronto.ca

Stress hormones
Carolyn L. Cummins
Assistant Professor
Faculty of Pharmacy
Office: 416-946-3466
Cell: 647-449-8859
Email: carolyn.cummins@utoronto.ca

CULTURE OF OLYMPICS:

Olympic Media Studies
Health Communication
Gender, Race and Active Healthy Living
Interprofessional Education and Wellness
Margaret MacNeill
Associate Professor
St.George Campus
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-0598
Email: margaret.macneill@utoronto.ca

Olympic commentating
International swimming
Byron MacDonald
Varsity Blues swimming head coach
Former Olympic swimming coach
Office: 416-978-7008
Home: 416-469-0719
Email: byron.macdonald@utoronto.ca

Olympic experience
Ice Hockey

Darren Lowe
Instructor
Coach of Varsity Blues Hockey Team
Faculty of Kinesiology & Physical Education
Office: 416-978-3083
Mobile: 416-991-4574
darren.lowe@utoronto.ca

Coaching Olympic and high performance athletes
Coaching technique and theory
Intercollegiate swimming
Olympic competition and commentary
U of T high performance swim centre

Byron MacDonald
University of Toronto Varsity Blues Swimming Head Coach
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-7008
byron.macdonald@utoronto.ca

Mega-events as tools of urbanization
Urban planning
Security and surveillance
Social movements
Race and racialization
Infrastructure, public-private partnerships and participatory planning
Urban entrepreneurialism
David J Roberts
Lecturer
St. George Campus
Innis College
Urban Studies Program
Office: 416-978-7790
D.roberts@utoronto.ca

RUSSIAN AFFAIRS:

Civil liberties in Russia
Migration and ethnic relations in Russia
Regional government and federal-regional relations in Russia
Russian law enforcement/policing
Specific regions of Russia: Moscow, Belgorod Oblast, North Caucuses 

Matthew Light
Assistant Professor
St.George Campus
Centre for Criminology and Sociolegal Studies
Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies
Office: 416-978-7124, ext.227
matthew.light@utoronto.ca
Languages: Russian and French
Note: will be overseas during Olympics, but can be reached by email

Democracy promotion
Democratization
Great Power Rivalries
Russia and Eastern Europe
US Foreign Policy
Seva Gunitsky
Assistant Professor of Political Science
St. George Campus
Munk School of Global Affairs
Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies
Trudeau Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies
Office: 416-978-3346
Mobile: 416-570-0862
s.gunitsky@utoronto.ca
Languages: Russian
http://individual.utoronto.ca/seva/

History
Immigration
International relations
National security, terrorism
Southeast Asia
United Nations
United States foreign policy 

Arne Kislenko
Adjunct Professor
St.George Campus
Trinity College
Munk School of Global Affairs
Office: 416-946-8973, 416-979-5000 ext. 6206
Cell: 647-378-8710
arne.kislenko@utoronto.ca
www.kislenko.com

GAY RIGHTS/SEXUAL DIVERSITY:

History and politics of sport and the Olympics
Civil liberties in Russia
Lesbian/gay activism in Russia
Helen Jefferson Lenskyj
Professor Emerita
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education University of Toronto
Home: 416 463 5100
helen.lenskyj@utoronto.ca

Censorship, pornography, freedom of expression
Family law
Feminism
Gay and lesbian legal issues, same sex couples
Gay and lesbian legal issues, same sex couples, same sex marriage
Legal regulation of adult relationships
Sexuality and the law, women and the law 

Brenda Cossman
Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Law
Office: 416-978-6658
b.cossman@utoronto.ca

 -30-

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto Media Relations
Tel: 416-978-0100
media.relations@utoronto.ca