Media Releases

Pan Am/Parapan Am Games 2015

July 22, 2014

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues relating to the 2015 Pan Am and Parapan American Games that will take place in Toronto, Canada, from July 10 to 26, 2015.

SPORTS:

Social issues related to sports
Sport, policy and politics 

Peter Donnelly
Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-946-5071
Mobile: 905-617-6020
Email: peter.donnelly@utoronto.ca

Sport Psychology
Stress and Coping
Youth Sport
Katherine Tamminen
Assistant Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-946-4068
Email: katherine.tamminen@utoronto.ca

Psychological stress in athletes, coaches, and parents of athletes
Retirement transitions of elite athletes
Gretchen Kerr
Vice Dean, Academic Affairs
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-6190
Email: gretchen.kerr@utoronto.ca

Sport concussion/sport injury and emotional recovery
Rehabilitation & health psychology, performance psychology & psychology of injury
Lynda Mainwaring
Associate Professor
Registered Psychologist
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
St. George
Office: 416-946-5134
lynda.mainwaring@utoronto.ca

Psychosocial predictors of physical activity
Physical activity interventions in populations with chronic disability
Community-based inclusive physical activity programming and evaluation
Kelly Arbour
Assistant Professor
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
St. George
Office: 416-978-2725
kelly.arbour@utoronto.ca

Emotions in sport and exercise, stress and well-being, and mental health
Catherine Sabiston
Associate Professor
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
St. George
Office: 416-978-5837
catherine.sabiston@utoronto.ca

Sport and international development
Sport and social activism
Sports mega-events 

Simon Darnell
Assistant Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Department of Exercise Sciences
Office: 416-978-0529
E-mail: simon.darnell@utoronto.ca

ADVERTISING AND MARKETING:

Sports marketing 
Richard Powers
National Academic Director
Canadian Olympic Committee, Governance and Ethics Committee member
Director and Treasurer for Commonwealth Games Canada
Director of Rugby Canada
St.George Campus
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-946-8610
Cell: 416-268-7186
Email: powers@rotman.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Will be at games the entire time. Best to e-mail first then schedule a time to call.

Leadership
Organization design
Jim Fisher
Professor Emeritus
St. George Campus
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-946-5591
jfisher@rotman.utoronto.ca

Advertising and marketing
David Soberman
Professor of Marketing
Canadian National Chair in Strategic Marketing
Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-5445
Cell: 416-420-4876
Email: David.Soberman@rotman.utoronto.ca

PHYSICAL ABILITY/PHYSIOLOGY/DOPING:

Heat and cold stress
Exercise pharmacology
High intensity exercise
Ira Jacobs
Dean and Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-5909
Email: dean.fpeh@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Prof. Jacobs is the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre at UTSC

Exercise physiology
Human performance in extreme conditions 

Greg D. Wells
Assistant Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Temerty Temerty Faculty of Medicine
Department of Anaesthesia
Office: 416-978-3244
Mobile: 416-710-4618
Email: greg.wells@utoronto.ca
Languages: French
www.drgregwells.com

Quantifying training, performance and their relation
High intensity exercise
Cardiovascular function and exercise
Scott Thomas
Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-6957
Email: scott.thomas@utoronto.ca

Endurance exercise and limitations to performance
Exercise and aging

Jack Goodman
Associate Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Temerty Temerty Faculty of Medicine
School of Graduate Studies
Department of Exercise Sciences
Department of Medicine
Office: 416-978-6095
Email: jack.goodman@utoronto.ca

Injury prevention
Concussions & spinal injuries
Charles H. Tator
Professor
Division of Neurosurgery
Department of Surgery
Office: 416-603-5889
Cell: 647-680-4643
Home: 705-633-5291
Email: charles.tator@uhn.on.ca
http://www.surg.med.utoronto.ca/faculty/Tator.html

Clinical sport medicine
Injury prevention
Doug Richards
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, David L. MacIntosh Sport Medicine Clinic
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
St. George
Office: 416-978-7377
doug.richards@utoronto.ca

Sport concussion & brain injury
Injury prevention
Michael Hutchison
Assistant Professor
Director, Concussion Program, David L. MacIntosh Sport Medicine Clinic
St. George
Office: 416-946-4050
michael.hutchison@utoronto.ca

Sports medicine
Howard A. Winston MD, CCFP, FCFP,
Dip. Sport Med. (CASEM)
Medical Director, Centre for Health & Sports Medicine
Assistant Professor
Department of Family & Community Medicine
Office: 416-789-2476
Cell: 647-880-4305
Email: h.winston@rogers.com
http://www.chsm.net

CULTURE OF OLYMPICS:

Sports & social media issues
Active healthy living & gender issues
Margaret MacNeill
Associate Professor
St.George Campus
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-0598
Email: margaret.macneill@utoronto.ca

Coaching technique and theory
Sports competition and commentary
Byron MacDonald
University of Toronto Varsity Blues Swimming Head Coach
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-7008
byron.macdonald@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Byron is a former silver and bronze medal winner at the Pan Am games.

Mega-events as tools of urbanization
David J Roberts
Lecturer
St. George Campus
Innis College
Urban Studies Program
Office: 416-978-7790
D.roberts@utoronto.ca

TORONTO:

Public participation in planning
Urban sprawl, growth management, smart growth
Andre Sorensen
Associate Professor
U of T Scarborough Campus
Department of Geography
Department of Social Sciences (UTSC)
Centre for Urban and Community Studies
Office: 416-978-8898
sorensen@utsc.utoronto.ca
Languages: Japanese

Architectural and urban design
City of Toronto (buildings, urban fabric)
Larry Richards
Professor Emeritus and Former Dean
St.George Campus
John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design
Office: 416-925-1323
Mobile: 917-886-2926
larry.richards@daniels.utoronto.ca

Urban community planning
Toronto Pan Am Aquatic Centre
Susannah Bunce
Assistant Professor
U of T Scarborough Campus
University of Toronto Scarborough
Department of Geography
Office: 416-287-7296
scbunce@utsc.utoronto.ca
http://www.utsc.utoronto.ca/~geography/faculty/bunce-s.html

 -30-

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto Media Relations
Tel: 416-978-0100
media.relations@utoronto.ca