Media Releases

Municipal Election experts

August 25, 2014

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to the City of Toronto Municipal election.

Political strategy
Voting and elections

Renan Levine
Lecturer
U of T Scarborough Campus
Department of Political Science
Office: 416-208-2651
Home: 416-848-1871
renan.levine@utoronto.ca
http://individual.utoronto.ca/renan

Canadian Politics
Political disagreement
Public opinion / anti-immigrant sentiment

Chris Cochrane
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
UTSC
(416) 208-5121
christopher.cochrane@utoronto.ca

Canadian politics
Political psychology and behaviour
Public opinion
Comparative politics

Peter Loewen
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
University of Toronto Mississauga
Office: 416-864-5991 or Pager: 416-864-5431
peter.loewen@utoronto.ca

Canadian politics, Canada-US relations
Globalization and citizen opposition
NAFTA and North American integration
Pierre Trudeau

Stephen Clarkson
Professor
University College, Political Economy
St. George
Office: 416-978-2682
stephen.clarkson@utoronto.ca
Other Languages: French
Available after September 7

Canadian politics (parties, voters, leaders, elections)
Canadian public policy and administration
Provincial politics (Ontario, the West, Quebec)

Nelson Wiseman
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
St. George
Office: 416-978-3336 (home/office)
nelson@chass.utoronto.ca
Note: Prefers to be phoned

E-democracy
Impact of digital technology on political participation
Democratic channels that facilitate citizen engagement
Nicole Goodman, PhD
Research Director, Centre for e-Democracy
Assistant Professor, Status
Munk School of Global Affairs
St. George
nicole.goodman@utoronto.ca
Internet Voting Project: www.internetvotingproject.com
Twitter: @ivotingproject

Political advertising and branding
David Dunne
Adjunct Professor
Rotman School of Management
St. George
Office: 416-978-8643
Cell:  778-233-0687
dunne@rotman.utoronto.ca

Transportation policy and planning
Infrastructure finance and delivery
Community and regional planning

Matti Siemiatycki
Associate Professor
Geography and Program in Planning
St. George
Phone: (416) 946-5145
Cell: (647) 680-8963
siemiatycki@geog.utoronto.ca

Transportation planning, policy analysis
Urban planning
Transportation emissions
Travel behaviour analysis, modeling
Relationship between urban form and transportation
Sustainable transportation systems and urban forms

Eric J. Miller
Director and Professor
University of Toronto Cities Centre
Department of Civil Engineering
Office: 416-978-4076
miller@civ.utoronto.ca or miller@ecf.utoronto.ca

Intelligent transportation systems
Advanced traffic management
Dynamic transportation networks
Dynamic congestion pricing

Baher Abdulhai
Associate Professor
Department of Civil Engineering
Office: 416-946-5036
baher.abdulhai@utoronto.ca

Children and Cities
Urban Design and Disability
City cycling and walking
Ron Buliung
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography UTM
Department of Geography and Program in Planning UofT, St. George
Office: 905-569-4419
Cell: 647-405-7460
Home: 416-536-0433
Email ron.buliung@utoronto.ca
Note: Email to arrange interviews

Cities
Municipal Politics
Public Policy
Urban Politics
Waterfront Development

Gabriel Eidelman
Assistant Professor
St.George Campus
School of Public Policy and Governance
Office: 416-938-9559
g.eidelman@utoronto.ca

Entrepreneurship, small business
Internationalization of small business
Reputation of new firms
Women entrepreneurs

Rebecca Reuber
Professor
Rotman School of Management
St. George
Office/blackberry: 416-978-5705
reuber@rotman.utoronto.ca
becky.reuber@utoronto.ca

Homelessness
Health services research
Poverty and health
Urban and inner city health

Stephen W. Hwang
Associate Professor; Director; Research Scientist
Department of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine
Centre for Research on Inner City Health
St. George
Office: 416-864-5991 or Pager: 416-864-5431
hwangs@smh.toronto.on.ca

Homelessness among women and families
Housing conditions of low-income tenants
Poverty

Emily Paradis, PhD
Research Associate
Cities Centre, University of Toronto
Email: e.paradis@utoronto.ca
Phone: 416-978-1345
Other languages: French
Note: Email to arrange interviews

Housing, rental and subsidized housing
Neighbourhoods and gentrification
Homelessness, poverty, social policy
David Hulchanski
Professor, Housing and Community Development
Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work
St. George
Office: 416-978-1973
Cell: 416 509-5806
david.hulchanski@utoronto.ca

Drinking water quality and treatment
Ron Hofmann
Assistant Professor
Department of Civil Engineering
Office: 416- 946-7508
hofmann@ecf.utoronto.ca

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto Media Relations
416-978-0100
media.relations@utoronto.ca