Media Releases

Japan earthquake experts

March 11, 2011

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues relating to the earthquake in Japan.

Radioactivity in the environment
Atmospheric and environmental chemistry
Air pollution
Greg John Evans
Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry
Director
Southern Ontario Centre for Atmospheric Aerosol Research
St. George
Office: 416-978-1821
Greg.evans@utoronto.ca
Other languages: French

Nuclear power systems
Materials, corrosion
Roger Newman
Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry
St. George
Home: 416-419-0411
Roger.newman@utoronto.ca

Stock market
Eric Kirzner
Professor
Rotman School of Management
St. George
Cell: 416-399-1296
kirzner@rotman.utoronto.ca

Financial markets
Andreas Park
Department of Economics
St. George
Office:416-978-4189
Cell:416-875-4758
apark@chass.utoronto.ca

Corporate governance
Business law
Richard Powers
Director Education Program
Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-946-8610
richard.powers@rotman.utoronto.ca

Natural disasters: tsunamis, floods, landslides, earthquakes
Natural hazards
Plate tectonics
Andrew D. Miall
Professor
Department of Geology
St. George
Office: 416-978-8841
Home: 416-236-9264
miall@geology.utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Only available for telephone interviews

Plate tectonics
Earthquakes
Volcanoes
Nick Eyles
Professor
Geology
Department of Physical and Environmental Science
UTSC
Office: 416-287-7231
Cell: 905-649-0140
eyles@utsc.utoronto.ca
*Note: Email preferred.
(Travelled to Japan in September 2009 off coast of Sendai as part of CBC documentary Geologic Journey II)

Earthquakes, related phenomena
Pierre-Yves/Pierre Francois Robin
Department of Geology
Cell:416-831-7680
Office: 416-978-5080
py.robin@utoronto.ca
Other languages: French
*Note: Print interviews only

Plate tectonic processes (earthquakes, volcanism)
Russell Nicholas PysklyweC
Department of Geology
Office: 416-978-4852
Cello:416537-2683
russ@geology.utoronto.ca
*Note: Best to call cell first

Seismology earthquakes
Qinya Liu
Assistant Professor
Department of Physics
Office: 416-978-5434
Cell: 647-866-8506
liuqy@physics.utoronto.ca

Continents
Henry Halls
Professor Emeritus
Department of Geology
UTM
Office: 416-978-1581
Henry.halls@utoronto.ca

Long-term computer modeling of plate tectonics
Geophysics
Earth evolution
Julian Lowman
Associate Professor
Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences
UTSC
Office: 416-208-4880
lowman@utsc.utoronto.ca
*Note: Email is best to arrange interviews. Only available 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Forensic engineering and failure analysis
Materials science
Building materials forensics analysis
Doug D. Perovic
Professor & Celestica Chair in Materials for Microelectronics
Department of Materials Science & Engineering
Chair, Nanoengineering Option, Division of Engineering Science
Office: 416-978-5635
Cell: 416-409-1085
Perovic@ecf.utoronto.ca
Other languages: Serbian

Japanese government and politics
Nuclear power development
Japanese society
Michael Donnelly
Professor Emeritus of Political Science
Dr. David Chu Professor Emeritus of Asia Pacific Studies
Vic One program, Victoria College
Home: 416-534-4433
Michael.donnelly@utoronto.ca

Japanese urban history
Urban planning in Japan
Andre Sorensen
Associate Professor
UTSC, Department of Social Sciences
Department of Geography & Program in Planning
Centre for Urban and Community Studies
UTSC
Office: 416-287-5607
Home: 416-532-1140
Sorensen@utsc.utoronto.ca
Other languages: Japanese

Canada-Japan business
Automotive business (Canada-Japan)
International business
Tim Richardson
Lecturer
U of T Scarborough, Division of Management
St. George
Former executive director of the Canada-Japan Trade Council
Office: 416-491-5050, ext. 7534
Cell: 416-677-3467
Home: 705-228-8731
Richardson@utsc.utoronto.ca
Other languages: Japanese

Asian architecture
Larry Wayne Richards
Professor Emeritus
Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design
St. George
Office: 416-925-1323
Home: 416-922-4142
Larry.richards@daniels.utoronto.ca

Critical care medicine
Dr. Neil Lazar
Associate Professor
Department of Medicine
St. George
Office: 416-340-3438
Home: 416-484-1491
Cell: 416-418-7323
neil.lazar@uhn.on.ca

Critical care
Intensive care medicine
Brian P. Kavanagh
Chair; Professor
Department of Anesthesia
Department of Physiology
St. George
Office: 461-978-4306
Cell: 647-202-2367
Brian.kavanagh@utoronto.ca

Pediatric emergency medicine
Dennis Scolnik
Associate Professor
Department of Pediatrics
Divisions of Pediatric Emergency Medicine
Dividion of Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology
St. George
Office: 416-813-4915
dennis.scolnik@sickkids.ca
*Note:  Only available from Tuesday, March 15 onwards

Stress
Stress management
Mark Berber
Lecturer
Department of Psychiatry
UTM
Office: 905-472-5733
Cell: 416-801-0991
mberber@cnsmedicine.com

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto media relations
416-978-0100
Media.relations@utoronto.ca