Media Releases

International Women’s Day

February 11, 2014

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to International Women’s Day.

 

Women’s health and mental health
Women’s health policy

Donna Stewart
University Professor; Director, Women’s Health
St.George Campus
Department of Psychiatry
Department of Medicine
Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Office: 416-340-3846
Home: 416-924-1779
donna.stewart@utoronto.ca

Women in university sport

Beth Ali
Director of Intercollegiate and High Performance Sport, University of Toronto
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-7379
beth.ali@utoronto.ca

Intercollegiate basketball

Women in basketball

Michele Belanger
University of Toronto Varsity Blues Women’s Basketball Head Coach
St.George Campus
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Office: 416-978-7359
michele.belanger@utoronto.ca

Emotion and popular culture (esp. gender, sexual orientation, and race in popular culture) Media representation of gender and women; women activists; violence against women in media
Megan Boler
Associate Chair
St.George Campus
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Office: 416-978-1231
megan.boler@utoronto.ca

Social Media

Women in Technology

Kelly Lyons
Associate Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Information
Department of Computer Science
Knowledge Media Design Institute (KMDI)
Office: 416-946-3839
kelly.lyons@utoronto.ca

Women in Greek tragedy

Ancient Greek female authors
Women in ancient Greece
Victoria Wohl
Professor
University of Toronto
St.George Campus
Department of Classics
Office: 416-978-8513
v.wohl@utoronto.ca

Equity issues for women
Feminism and young women
Violence against women

Connie Guberman
U of T Scarborough Campus
Associate Chair, Department of Historical and Cultural Studies
Coordinator of the Women’s and Gender Studies Program
c.guberman@utoronto.ca

Gender and global culture

Gender and social policy
Women, citizenship, migration, refugees

Joan Simalchik
U of T Mississauga Campus
Program Coordinator, Women and Gender Studies
Department of Historical Studies
Home: 416-988-7953
joan.simalchik@utoronto.ca

Censorship, pornography, freedom of expression
Feminism
Sexuality and the law, women and the law

Brenda Cossman
Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Law
Office: 416-978-6658
b.cossman@utoronto.ca

Career advancement for women
Internationally trained women professionals in Canada
Women and Leadership

Beatrix Dart
Professor; Associate Dean Executive Degree Programs; Executive Director Initiatives for Women in Business
St.George Campus
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-946-7496
bdart@rotman.utoronto.ca, anita.barberio@rotman.utoronto.ca
Languages: German

Entrepreneurship, small business
Internationalization of small business
Women entrepreneurs

Rebecca Reuber
Professor
St.George Campus
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-5705
reuber@rotman.utoronto.ca
Note: Best to email

Contemporary Christianity
Religious diversity
Women and religion

Pamela Klassen
Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Arts and Science
Department of Anthropology
Department of Religion
Centre for the Study of the United States
Jackman Humanities Institute
Institute for Women’s Studies and Gender Studies
Office: 416-585-4573
p.klassen@utoronto.ca
http://projects.chass.utoronto.ca/pklassen

 

-30- 

For more information, contact:

University of Toronto media relations:
Tel: 416-978-0100
media.relations@utoronto.ca