Media Releases

Holiday experts

December 9, 2011

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to the holiday season.

RELIGIOUS CELEBRATIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Christmas
Early Christianity
John S. Kloppenborg
Professor & Chair
Department & Centre for the Study of Religion
St. George
Office: 416-978-6493 or 416-978-4949
Chair.religion@utoronto.ca

Religion
Scott Schieman
Professor
Department of Sociology
St. George
Office: 416-946-5905
scott.schieman@utoronto.ca

Spirituality and health
Dr. Chandrakant Shah
Professor Emeritus
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
Faculty of Social Work
St. George
Office: 416-360-0486
c.shah@utoronto.ca or cshah@aht.ca
NOTE: Not available after December 16.

Canadian Buddhism
Buddha’s Enlightenment

Suwanda Sugunasiri
Adjunct Professor
Trinity College, Religion
St. George
Office: 416-782-8227
suwanda.sugunasiri@utoronto.ca


CONSUMERISM, SPENDING & SAVING DECISIONS, RETAIL:

Consumerism
Nature of consumerism

Dr. Trevor Norris
Assistant Professor
Theory and Policy Studies
OISE/UT
Office: 416-978-1201
trevor.norris@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Consumer saving and spending decisions
Behavioural economics
Consumer psychology and decision-making

Dilip Soman
Professor
Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-946-0195
dilip.soman@rotman.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews. 

Consumer affairs
Jacob Ziegel
Professor of Law Emeritus
Faculty of Law
Office: 416-978-3717
Home: 416-920-4934 (No calls before 8 a.m. or after 10 p.m.)
j.ziegel@utoronto.ca


MOOD AND EMOTIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Health benefits of vacations
Managing stress over the holidays
Dealing with grief and loss over the holidays
How to keep laughing and playing on vacation

Mel Borins
Associate Professor
Department of Family and Community Medicine
Office: 416-533-6488
Home: 416-782-4530
melborins@hotmail.com
NOTE: After December 10, Professor Borins will be 6 hours behind Toronto time and can be reached at 808-879-6010.

Depression
Greg Dubord
Lecturer
Psychiatry
Toronto Center for Cognitive Therapy
St. George
Office: 416-777-6699, ext. 2
Greg.dubord@gmail.com
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Adolescent depression, sexuality, body image/eating
Miriam Kaufman
Professor
Department of Paediatrics
Office: 416-813-6657
Home: 416-658-1411
Cell: 416-561-9917
Pager: 416-235-8903
Miriam.kaufman@sickkids.ca

Child/adolescent depression and suicide
Marshall Korenblum
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry
Faculty of Medicine
University of Toronto
Office: 416-972-1935, ext. 3316
Office: 416-972-1935, ext. 3309
mkorenblum@hincksdellcrest.org
NOTE: Not available between December 19 and January 9 or outside of office hours.

Seasonal depression
New Year’s resolutions
Parenting and relationship stress
Family stress

Douglas Saunders
Assistant Professor
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
St. George
Office: 416-597-2614, ext 2
Cell: 416-305-0503
douglas.saunders@utoronto.ca

Stress over the holidays
Scott Schieman
Professor
Department of Sociology
St. George
Office: 416-946-5905
scott.schieman@utoronto.ca


FOOD AND ALCOHOL DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Food culture
Food and holiday rituals/celebrations

Shyon Baumann
Assistant Professor
Department of Sociology
Centre for the Study of the United States
Shyon.baumann@utoronto.ca

Epidemiology and health data; alcohol, tobacco and other drugs
Susan Bondy
Associate Professor
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
University of Toronto
Office: 416-978-0141
Sue.bondy@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol
Michael R. Corbett
Coordinator; Instructor
School of Continuing Studies
Office: 905-785-9977
Michael.corbett@utoronto.ca or michaelcorbett@rogers.com


NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS, PHYSICAL ACTIVITY, HEALTHY EATING, DIETING:

Physical activity and exercise
Guy Faulkner
Associate Professor
Faculty of Physical Education and Health
St. George
Office: 416-946-7949
Cell: 416-433-4674
guy.faulkner@utoronto.ca

Eco-friendly Christmas diet
Nutrition and health eating
David Jenkins
Professor
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Department of Medicine
Canada Research Chair in Nutrition and Metabolism
St. George
Office: 416-978-4752
SMH : 416-867-7475
Cell : 416-732-8705
Cyril.kendall@utoronto.ca

New Year’s resolutions
Dieting, eating

Janet Polivy
Professor
Department of Psychology
Department of Psychiatry
UTM
Home: 416-968-3942
polivy@psych.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews. Only call between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m.


THE YEAR IN REVIEW: TECHNOLOGY


Competition law, intellectual property law and e-commerce

Ariel Katz
Assistant Professor; Innovation Chair-Electronic Commerce
Faculty of Law
Centre for Innovation Law and Policy
St. George
Office: 416-978-8892
ariel.katz@utoronto.ca

Social media – Facebook, YouTube, Twitter
E-commerce and Internet marketing
Mobile commerce
Internet security
Web privacy issues
Identity theft

Tim Richardson
Lecturer
U of T at Scarborough, Division of Management
St. George
Office: 416-491-5050 x. 7534
Cell: 416-677-3467
Home: 705-228-8731
richardson@utsc.utoronto.ca
Other languages: Japanese
FAMILY AND INTERPERSONAL RELATIONSHIPS:

Impact of separation and divorce on children
Family mediation

Dr. Andrea Litvack
MSW Program Director
Faculty of Social Work
St. George
Office: 416-978-5826
Cell: 647-226-5212
andrea.litvack@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Not available December 28 and 29.

Sibling conflict
Michal Perlman
Associate Professor
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE)
St. George
Office: 416-978-0956
Cell: 416-831-3245
mperlman@oise.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.


VACATIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Travel medicine
Infectious diseases
Tropical diseases
Ian E. Crandall
Associate Professor
Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Pharmacy
St. George
Office: 416-978-6627
Home: 416-590-0212
MICrandall@rogers.com or Ian.crandall@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.


CHILDREN’S TOYS/EDUCATIONAL GIFTS:

Toy research
Gender issues
Parenting
Early childhood education and early literacy

Linda Cameron
Associate Professor
Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
St. George
Home: 416-489-2822
Cell: 416-219-7796
l.cameron@utoronto.ca

Early child development and education
Early literacy development

Janette Patricia Pelletier
Associate Professor
Department of Human Development and Applied Psychology
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Director, Institute of Child Study
St. George
Office: 416-934-4506
Cell: 647-990-4455
Janette.pelletier@utoronto.ca


For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto Media Relations
416-978-0100
Media.relations@utoronto.ca