Media Releases

Holiday experts for 2015

December 16, 2015

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to the 2015 holiday season.

RELIGIOUS CELEBRATIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS

Christian rituals
William Kervin
Associate Professor
Emmanuel College
Office: 416-585-4546
Home: 416-778-0616
w.kervin@utoronto.ca

Contemporary Christianity
Religious rituals and diversity
Pamela Klassen
Professor
Department of Religion
Office: 416-585-4573
p.klassen@utoronto.ca

CONSUMERISM, SPENDING & SAVING DECISIONS, RETAIL

Advertising
B2B Marketing
Digital marketing
Market research
Retailing
David Soberman
Professor
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-5445
Mobile: 416-420-4876
david.soberman@rotman.utoronto.ca

MOOD AND EMOTIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS

Depression
Anxiety
New Year’s resolutions
Cognitive behaviour therapy
Greg Dubord
Assistant Professor
Psychiatry
Toronto Center for Cognitive Therapy
Office: 416-777-6699, ext. 2
greg.dubord@gmail.com
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS, PHYSICAL ACTIVITY, HEALTHY EATING, DIETING

New Year’s resolutions and changing habits
Value of taking holidays
Purchasing music or dance lessons as gifts 
Steve Joordens
Full Professor
Department of Psychology
Office: 416-287-7469
joordens@utsc.utoronto.ca

Physical activity and exercise
Guy Faulkner
Professor
Faculty of Physical Education and Health
Office: 416-946-7949
Cell: 416-433-4674
guy.faulkner@utoronto.ca

Eco-friendly Christmas diet
Nutrition and health eating
David Jenkins
Professor
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Department of Medicine
Canada Research Chair in Nutrition and Metabolism
Office: 416-978-4752
SMH : 416-867-7475
Cell : 416-732-8705
cyril.kendall@utoronto.ca

New Year’s resolutions
Dieting, eating
Janet Polivy
Professor
Department of Psychology
Department of Psychiatry
Home: 416-968-3942
polivy@psych.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews. Only call between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m.

PUBLIC HEALTH, HOLIDAY COLDS & FLUS

Health services research
Urban and inner city health
Stephen Hwang
Associate Professor; Director; Research Scientist
Department of Medicine
Office: 416-864-5991
hwangs@smh.ca

THE YEAR IN REVIEW: TECHNOLOGY

Competition law, intellectual property law and e-commerce
Ariel Katz
Associate Professor; Innovation Chair-Electronic Commerce
Faculty of Law
Office: 416-978-8892
ariel.katz@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Available by e-mail only.

Social media – Facebook, YouTube, Twitter
E-commerce and Internet marketing
Mobile computing
Web privacy issues
Identity theft
Tim Richardson
Lecturer
U of T at Scarborough, Division of Management
Cell: 416-677-3467
richardson@utsc.utoronto.ca
Other languages: Japanese

FAMILY AND INTERPERSONAL RELATIONSHIPS

Sibling conflict
Early childhood education and care
Michal Perlman
Associate Professor
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE)
Office: 416-978-0956
Cell: 416-831-3245
mperlman@oise.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Decisions about romantic relationships
Improving and maintaining relationship quality
Relationship turning points
Samantha Joel
PhD student
Department of Psychology
Office: Not Available
samantha.joel@utoronto.ca
http://www.psych.utoronto.ca/users/spa/students/joel.php

VACATIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS

Medical parasites
Travel medicine
Tropical medicine
Jay Keystone
Professor
Department of Medicine
Tropical Disease Unit
Toronto General Hospital
Cell: 416-606-5868
jay.keystone@utoronto.ca

Airlines
Cross-border travel and shopping
Gasoline and Oil prices
U.S.-Canada border
U.S.-Canada exchange rate
Ambarish Chandra
Assistant Professor
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-7138
ambarish.chandra@rotman.utoronto.ca

CHILDREN’S TOYS/EDUCATIONAL GIFTS

Early child development and education
Full-day kindergarten
Early literacy development
Janette Patricia Pelletier
Professor
Department of Applied Psychology and Human Development
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Dr. Eric Jackman Institute of Child Study
Office: 416-934-4506
Cell: 647-990-4455
janette.pelletier@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Available by e-mail only.

-30-

The University of Toronto will be closed for the holidays from Wednesday, December 23, through Friday, January 1. If you are looking for an U of T expert for a story during this time, please consult our Blue Book of Experts. Happy holidays!