Media Releases

Holiday experts for 2013

December 3, 2013

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to the 2013 holiday season.

RELIGIOUS CELEBRATIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Spirituality and health
Dr. Chandrakant Shah
Professor Emeritus
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
Staff Physician, Anishnawbe Health Toronto
Faculty of Social Work
St. George
Office: 416-360-0486 X231
c.shah@utoronto.ca or cshah@aht.ca

CONSUMERISM, SPENDING & SAVING DECISIONS, RETAIL:

Consumerism
Nature of consumerism
Dr. Trevor Norris
Assistant Professor
Theory and Policy Studies
OISE/UT
Office: 416-978-1201
trevor.norris@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Advertising
B2B Marketing
Digital marketing
Market research
Retailing 
David Soberman
Professor
St.George Campus
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-5445
Mobile: 416-420-4876
david.soberman@rotman.utoronto.ca
Languages: French
http://www.rotman.utoronto.ca/FacultyAndResearch/Faculty/FacultyBios/Soberman.aspx

MOOD AND EMOTIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Health benefits of vacations
Managing stress over the holidays
Dealing with grief and loss over the holidays
How to keep laughing and playing on vacation
Mel Borins
Associate Professor
Department of Family and Community Medicine
Office: 416-533-6488
Home: 416-782-4530
melborins@hotmail.com
NOTE: From December 7 to January 15, Professor Borins will be 6 hours behind Toronto time and can be reached at 808-879-6010.

Depression
Anxiety

New Year’s resolutions
Cognitive behaviour therapy
Greg Dubord
Assistant Professor
Psychiatry
Toronto Center for Cognitive Therapy
St. George
Office: 416-777-6699, ext. 2
greg.dubord@gmail.com
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Child/adolescent depression and suicide
Marshall Korenblum
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry
Temerty Temerty Faculty of Medicine
University of Toronto
Office: 416-972-1935, ext. 3316
Office: 416-972-1935, ext. 3309
mkorenblum@hincksdellcrest.org
NOTE: Not available between December 23 and January 7 or outside of office hours.

Seasonal depression
New Year’s resolutions
Parenting and relationship stress
Family stress
Douglas Saunders
Assistant Professor
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
St. George
Office: 416-597-2614, ext. 2
Cell: 416-305-0503
douglas.saunders@utoronto.ca

New Year’s resolutions and changing habits
Value of taking holidays
Purchasing music or dance lessons as gifts 
Steve Joordens
Full Professor
U of T Scarborough Campus
Department of Psychology
Office: 416-287-7469
joordens@utsc.utoronto.ca

FOOD AND ALCOHOL DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Epidemiology and health data; alcohol, tobacco and other drugs
Susan Bondy
Associate Professor
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
University of Toronto
Office: 416-978-0141
sue.bondy@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol
Michael R. Corbett
Coordinator; Instructor
School of Continuing Studies
Office: 905-785-9977
michael.corbett@utoronto.ca or michaelcorbett@rogers.com

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS, PHYSICAL ACTIVITY, HEALTHY EATING, DIETING:

Physical activity and exercise
Guy Faulkner
Professor
Faculty of Physical Education and Health
St. George
Office: 416-946-7949
Cell: 416-433-4674
guy.faulkner@utoronto.ca

Eco-friendly Christmas diet
Nutrition and health eating
David Jenkins
Professor
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Department of Medicine
Canada Research Chair in Nutrition and Metabolism
St. George
Office: 416-978-4752
SMH : 416-867-7475
Cell : 416-732-8705
cyril.kendall@utoronto.ca

New Year’s resolutions
Dieting, eating
Janet Polivy
Professor
Department of Psychology
Department of Psychiatry
UTM
Home: 416-968-3942
polivy@psych.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews. Only call between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m.

THE YEAR IN REVIEW: TECHNOLOGY 

Competition law, intellectual property law and e-commerce
Ariel Katz
Associate Professor; Innovation Chair-Electronic Commerce
Faculty of Law
Centre for Innovation Law and Policy
St. George
Office: 416-978-8892
ariel.katz@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Available by e-mail only.

Social media – Facebook, YouTube, Twitter
E-commerce and Internet marketing
Mobile commerce
Internet security
Web privacy issues
Identity theft
Tim Richardson
Lecturer
U of T at Scarborough, Division of Management
St. George
Office: 416-491-5050 ext. 7534
Cell: 416-677-3467
Home: 705-228-8731
richardson@utsc.utoronto.ca
Other languages: Japanese

FAMILY AND INTERPERSONAL RELATIONSHIPS:

Sibling conflict
Michal Perlman
Associate Professor
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE)
St. George
Office: 416-978-0956
Cell: 416-831-3245
mperlman@oise.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Decisions about romantic relationships
Improving and maintaining relationship quality
Relationship turning points
Samantha Joel
PhD student
St.George Campus
Department of Psychology
Office: Not Available
samantha.joel@utoronto.ca
http://www.psych.utoronto.ca/users/spa/students/joel.php

VACATIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Medical parasites
Travel medicine
Tropical medicine
Jay Keystone
Professor
St.George Campus
Department of Medicine
Tropical Disease Unit
Toronto General Hospital
Cell: 416-606-5868
jay.keystone@utoronto.ca

Airlines
Cross-border travel and shopping
Gasoline and Oil prices
U.S.-Canada border
U.S.-Canada exchange rate 

Ambarish Chandra
Assistant Professor
St.George Campus
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-7138
ambarish.chandra@rotman.utoronto.ca

CHILDREN’S TOYS/EDUCATIONAL GIFTS:

Early child development and education
Full-day kindergarten
Early literacy development
Janette Patricia Pelletier
Professor
Department of Applied Psychology and Human Development
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Dr. Eric Jackman Institute of Child Study
St. George
Office: 416-934-4506
Cell: 647-990-4455
janette.pelletier@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Available by e-mail only.

-30-

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto Media Relations
Tel: 416-978-0100
media.relations@utoronto.ca