Media Releases

Holiday experts for 2012

November 30, 2012

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to the 2012 holiday season.

RELIGIOUS CELEBRATIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Christmas Early Christianity
John S. Kloppenborg
Professor & Chair
Department & Centre for the Study of Religion
St. George
john.kloppenborg@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Currently on sabbatical, but available to take media requests.

Religion
Mental health and emotions

Stress and health
Work and stress

Scott Schieman
Professor
Canada Research Chair (Social Contexts of Health)
Department of Sociology
St. George
Office: 416-946-5905
scott.schieman@utoronto.ca

Spirituality and health
Dr. Chandrakant Shah
Professor Emeritus
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
Faculty of Social Work
St. George
Office: 416-360-0486
c.shah@utoronto.ca or cshah@aht.ca
NOTE: Not available after December 16.

CONSUMERISM, SPENDING & SAVING DECISIONS, RETAIL:

Consumer saving and spending decisions
Behavioural economics
Consumer psychology and decision-making
Dilip Soman
Professor
Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-946-0195
dilip.soman@rotman.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

MOOD AND EMOTIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Health benefits of vacations
Managing stress over the holidays
Dealing with grief and loss over the holidays
How to keep laughing and playing on vacation

Mel Borins
Associate Professor
Department of Family and Community Medicine
Office: 416-533-6488
Home: 416-782-4530
melborins@hotmail.com
NOTE: From December 8 to January 18, Professor Borins will be 6 hours behind Toronto time and can be reached at 808-879-6010.

Depression
Greg Dubord
Lecturer
Psychiatry
Toronto Center for Cognitive Therapy
St. George
Office: 416-777-6699, ext. 2
Greg.dubord@gmail.com
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Adolescent depression, sexuality, body image/eating
Miriam Kaufman
Professor
Department of Paediatrics
Office: 416-813-6657
Home: 416-658-1411
Cell: 416-561-9917
Pager: 416-235-8903
Miriam.kaufman@sickkids.ca

Child/adolescent depression and suicide
Marshall Korenblum
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry
Faculty of Medicine
University of Toronto
Office: 416-972-1935, ext. 3316
Office: 416-972-1935, ext. 3309
mkorenblum@hincksdellcrest.org
NOTE: Not available outside of office hours.

Seasonal depression
New Year’s resolutions
Parenting and relationship stress
Family stress

Douglas Saunders
Assistant Professor
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
St. George
Office: 416-597-2614, ext 2
Cell: 416-305-0503
douglas.saunders@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Not available between December 14 to 18, or from December 25 to January 2.

Stress over the holidays
Scott Schieman
Professor
Canada Research Chair (Social Contexts of Health)
Department of Sociology
St. George
Office: 416-946-5905
scott.schieman@utoronto.ca

Epidemiology and health data; alcohol, tobacco and other drugs
Susan Bondy
Associate Professor
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
University of Toronto
Office: 416-978-0141
Sue.bondy@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol
Michael R. Corbett
Coordinator; Instructor
School of Continuing Studies
Office: 905-785-9977
Michael.corbett@utoronto.ca or michaelcorbett@rogers.com

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS, PHYSICAL ACTIVITY, HEALTHY EATING, DIETING:

Physical activity and exercise
Guy Faulkner
Associate Professor
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
St. George
Office: 416-946-7949
Cell: 416-433-4674
guy.faulkner@utoronto.ca 

Eco-friendly Christmas diet
Nutrition and health eating
David Jenkins
Professor
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Department of Medicine
Canada Research Chair in Nutrition and Metabolism
St. George
Office: 416-978-4752
SMH : 416-867-7475
Cell : 416-732-8705
Cyril.kendall@utoronto.ca

New Year’s resolutions
Dieting, eating

Janet Polivy
Professor
Department of Psychology
Department of Psychiatry
UTM
polivy@psych.utoronto.ca

Exercise
Managing stress and emotions
Exercise-related New Year’s resolutions
Catherine M. Sabiston, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Faculty of Kinesiology & Physical Education
St. George
Office: 416-978-5837
Email: catherine.sabiston@utoronto.ca

THE YEAR IN REVIEW: TECHNOLOGY

Social media – Facebook, YouTube, Twitter
E-commerce and Internet marketing
Mobile commerce
Internet security
Web privacy issues
Identity theft

Tim Richardson
Lecturer
U of T at Scarborough, Division of Management
St. George
Office: 416-491-5050 x. 7534
Cell: 416-677-3467
Home: 705-228-8731
richardson@utsc.utoronto.ca
Other languages: Japanese

FAMILY AND INTERPERSONAL RELATIONSHIPS:

Impact of separation and divorce on children
Family mediation

Andrea Litvack
Professor, MSW Program Director
Faculty of Social Work
St. George
Office: 416-978-5826
Cell: 647-226-5212
andrea.litvack@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Not available December 19 to January 2. 

Dating
Decisions about romantic relationships
Romance 

Samantha Joel
PhD student
St. George Campus
Department of Psychology
Office: Not Available
samantha.joel@utoronto.ca
http://www.psych.utoronto.ca/users/spa/students/joel.php

Facebook
New Media
Romantic relationships
Sexuality
Amy Muise
Post-doctoral Fellow
U of T Mississauga Campus
Department of Psychology
Cell: 905-630-5724
amy.muise@utoronto.ca
www.amymuise.com

CHILDREN’S TOYS/EDUCATIONAL GIFTS:

Toy research
Gender issues
Parenting
Early childhood education and early literacy

Linda Cameron
Associate Professor
Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
St. George
Cell: 416-219-7796
l.cameron@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Early child development and education
Early literacy development

Janette Patricia Pelletier
Professor
Department of Human Development and Applied Psychology
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Director, Institute of Child Study
St. George
Office: 416-934-4555
Cell: 647-990-4455
Janette.pelletier@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Not available after December 18.

-30-

 

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto Media Relations
Tel: 416-978-0100
Media.relations@utoronto.ca