Media Releases

Holiday Experts 2010

December 2, 2010

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to the holiday season.

RELIGIOUS CELEBRATIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Religion
Spirituality
Religious rituals around the holidays

Richard Chambers
Director
Multi-Faith Centre
University of Toronto
Office: 416-946-3119
Home: 416-323-9751
Richard.chambers@utoronto.ca

Christianity
John S. Kloppenborg
Professor & Chair
Department & Centre for the Study of Religion
St. George
Office: 416-978-6493 or 416-978-4949
Chair.religion@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Only available after December 8.

Chanukah
Jewish affairs

Derek Jonathan Penslar
Samuel J. Zacks Professor of Jewish History
Director, Jewish Studies Program
Department of History
Department of Jewish Studies Program
St. George
Office: 416-978-0339
Cell: 416-200-2849
derek.penslar@utoronto.ca

Christianity and Judaism in the Roman world
Peter Richardson
Professor Emeritus Department and Centre for the Study of Religion
University College; Jewish Studies Program
St. George
Home: 416-463-3746
prchrdsn@chass.utoronto.ca

Religion
Scott Schieman
Professor
Department of Sociology
St. George
Office: 416-946-5905
scott.schieman@utoronto.ca

Spirituality and health
Dr. Chandrakant Shah
Professor Emeritus
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
Faculty of Social Work
St. George
Office: 416-360-0486
Home: 905-990-5111
c.shah@utoronto.ca or cshah@aht.ca

Canadian Buddhism
Buddha’s Enlightenment

Suwanda Sugunasiri
Adjunct Professor
Trinity College, Religion
St. George
Office: 416-782-8227
suwanda.sugunasiri@utoronto.ca

Islam
Mohamad Tavakoli-Targhi
Professor
Department of History
Near & Middle Eastern Civilizations
St. George
Office: 416-978-5039
Cell: 416-951-2495
m.tavakoli@utoronto.ca

CONSUMERISM, SPENDING & SAVING DECISIONS, RETAIL:

Retailing
Sergio Meza
Assistant Professor
Rotman School of Management
UTM, Department of Management
Office: 905-569-4962 or 416-978-5445
sergio.meza@rotman.utoronto.ca
Note: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Consumerism
Nature of consumerism

Dr. Trevor Norris
Assistant Professor
Theory and Policy Studies
OISE/UT
Office: 416-978-1201
trevor.norris@utoronto.ca
Note: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Consumer saving and spending decisions
Behavioural economics

Consumer psychology and decision making
Dilip Soman
Professor
Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-946-0195
dilip.soman@rotman.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Consumer affairs
Jacob Ziegel
Professor of Law Emeritus
Faculty of Law
Office: 416-978-3717
Home: 416-920-4934 (No calls before 8 a.m. and none after 10 p.m.)
j.ziegel@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Not available from November 29 to December 6.

HOLIDAY ADVERTISING AND MARKETING:

Global marketing
Andrij Myroslaw Brygidyr
Affiliate Professor and Lecturer
Rotman School of Management
St. George
Office: 416-503-3343, ext. 102
Cell: 416-930-3944
andrijb@aamerch.com

Marketing, advertising, branding
David Dunne
Adjunct Professor
Rotman School of Management
St. George
Office: 416-978-8643
Cell: 416-666-0687
dunne@rotman.utoronto.ca

Advertising
Cinema
Popular culture

Garry Martin Leonard
Professor
Department of English
Literature and Film Studies
UTSC
Office: 416-287-7141
Home: 416-466-6962
Leonard@utsc.utoronto.ca

MOOD AND EMOTIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Stress reduction, mindfulness meditation
Susan Elizabeth Abbey
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry
St. George
Office: 416-340-4447 or 416-340-3155 (hospital locator- page her-emergency only)
Cell: 416-805-8517
susan.abbey@uhn.on.ca

Resilience in children and families
Aging resilience
Mood disorders

Tatyana Barankin
Consultant psychiatrist, child and family
Associate Professor
University of Toronto
Academic Educator, CFD
Office: 416-223-9635
Tatyana_Barankin@camh.net

Depression
Anxiety and stress
Seasonal affective disorder

Happiness
Mark Berber
Psychiatrist
Lecturer
Department of Psychiatry
UTM
Office: 905-472-5733
Cell: 416-801-0991
mberber@cnsmedicine.com

Health benefits of vacations
Managing stress over the holidays
Dealing with grief and loss over the holidays
How to keep laughing and playing on vacation

Mel Borins
Associate Professor
Department of Family and Community Medicine
Office: 416-533-6488
Home: 416-782-4530
Other (from December 10 to January 7): 808-879-6010
melborins@hotmail.com

Emotion regulation and coping
Work stress
Stephane Cote
Assistant Professor
Rotman School of Management
Department of Psychology
St. George
Office: 416-978-5704
scote@rotman.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Depression
Greg Dubord
Lecturer
Psychiatry
Toronto Center for Cognitive Therapy
St. George
Office: 416-777-6699, ext. 2
Greg.dubord@gmail.com
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Adolescent depression, sexuality, body image/eating
Miriam Kaufman
Professor
Department of Paediatrics
Office: 416-813-6657
Home: 416-658-1411
Miriam.kaufman@sickkids.ca

Child/adolescent depression and suicide
Marshall Korenblum
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry
Faculty of Medicine
University of Toronto
Office: 416-972-1935, ext. 3316
Office: 416-972-1935, ext. 3309
mkorenblum@hincksdellcrest.org

Seasonal depression
New Year’s resolutions
Parenting and relationship stress
Family stress

Douglas Saunders
Assistant Professor
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
St. George
Office: 416-597-2614, ext 2
douglas.saunders@utoronto.ca

Stress over the holidays
Scott Schieman
Professor
Department of Sociology
St. George
Office: 416-946-5905
scott.schieman@utoronto.ca

Depression
Zindel V. Segal
Cameron Wilson Chair in Depression Studies
Professor of Psychiatry
University of Toronto
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
Office: 416-979-6856
Zindel_segal@camh.net
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

FOOD AND ALCOHOL DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Food culture
Food and holiday rituals/celebrations

Shyon Baumann
Assistant Professor
Department of Sociology
Centre for the Study of the United States
Office: 416-946-5900
Home: 416-530-1680
Shyon.baumann@utoronto.ca

Alcohol use patterns
Susan Bondy
Assistant Professor
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
University of Toronto
Office: 416-978-0141
Sue.bondy@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol
Michael R. Corbett
Coordinator; Instructor
School of Continuing Studies
Office: 905-785-9977
Michael.corbett@utoronto.ca or michaelcorbett@rogers.com

Food politics and culture
Josee Johnston
Associate Professor
Sociology
UTM
Office: 905-569-4282
Josee.johnston@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS, PHYSICAL ACTIVITY, HEALTHY EATING, DIETING:

Role of nutrition in obesity and Diabetes
Dr. Khosrow Adeli
Department of Biochemistry
Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
St. George
Office: 416-813-8682
Cell: 416-587-5195
k.adeli@utoronto.ca
Other languages: Persian

Physical activity and exercise
Guy Faulkner
Assistant Professor
Faculty of Physical Education and Health
St. George
Office: 416-946-7949
Cell: 416-633-4674
guy.faulkner@utoronto.ca

Nutrition and health eating
David Jenkins
Professor
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Department of Medicine
Canada Research Chair in Nutrition and Metabolism
St. George
Office: 416-978-4752
SMH : 416-867-7475
Cell : 416-732-8705
Cyril.kendall@utoronto.ca

New Year’s resolutions
Dieting, eating

Janet Polivy
Professor
Department of Psychology
Department of Psychiatry
UTM
Office: 904-828-3959
polivy@psych.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

THE YEAR IN REVIEW: POLITICS

Canadian politics and political history
Robert Bothwell
Professor
Department of History
International Relations Program
St. George
Office: 416-946-8948
bothwell@chass.utoronto.ca
Note: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Canadian politics
Stephen Clarkson
Professor
University College, Political Economy
St. George
Office: 416-978-2682 (also gets him at home when not in office)
stephen.clarkson@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Away December 8 to 12.

Canadian politics (parties, voters, leaders, elections)
Provincial politics (Ontario, the West, Quebec)

Nelson Wiseman
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
St. George
Office: 416-978-3336 (home/office)
nelson@chass.utoronto.ca

THE YEAR IN REVIEW: TECHNOLOGY

Competition law, intellectual property law and e-commerce
Ariel Katz
Assistant Professor; Innovation Chair-Electronic Commerce
Faculty of Law
Centre for Innovation Law and Policy
St. George
Office: 416-978-8892
ariel.katz@utoronto.ca

Technology
Tom Vassos
Instructor
Rotman School of Management
St. George
Office: 416-436-8431
Cell: 416-478-8579
Home: 905-770-8968
tomvassos@yahoo.ca

FAMILY AND INTERPERSONAL RELATIONSHIPS:

Impact of separation and divorce on children
Family mediation

Dr. Andrea Litvack
MSW Program Director
Faculty of Social Work
St. George
Office: 416-978-5826
Home: 647-226-5212
andrea.litvack@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Only available December 1 to 16.

Sibling conflict
Michal Perlman
Associate Professor
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE)
St. George
Office: 416-978-0956
Cell: 416-831-3245
mperlman@oise.utoronto.ca

VACATIONS DURING THE HOLIDAYS:

Travel medicine
Ian E. Crandall
Associate Professor
Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Pharmacy
St. George
Office: 416-978-6627
Home: 416-590-0212
MICrandall@rogers.com or Ian.crandall@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best to arrange interviews.

Travel/tropical medicine
Jay Keystone
Professor
Department of Medicine
Division of Infectious Diseases
St. George
Office: 416-340-3671
Jay.keystone@utoronto.ca

CHILDREN’S TOYS/EDUCATIONAL GIFTS:

Toy research
Gender issues
Parenting
Early childhood education and early literacy

Linda Cameron
Associate Professor
Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
St. George
Home: 416-489-2822
Cell: 416-219-7796
l.cameron@utoronto.ca

Child language acquisition
Rena Helms-Park
Associate Professor
Linguistics
UTSC
Graduate Second Language Education/Graduate Linguistics
St. George
Office: 416-287-7142
rhelms@utsc.utoronto.ca
NOTE: In Australia for part of December. Email best to arrange interviews.

Early child development and education
Early literacy development

Janette Patricia Pelletier
Associate Professor
Department of Human Development and Applied Psychology
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Director, Institute of Child Study
St. George
Office: 416-934-4506
Cell: 647-990-4455
Janette.pelletier@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Unavailable after December 17. Email is best to arrange interviews.

CHARITIES/NON-PROFITS:

Non-profit organizations, co-operatives
Jack Quarter
Professor and Director
Social Economy Centre
Adult Education & Counselling Psychology
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
St. George
Office: 416-978-0820
Home: 416-694-4614
Jack.quarter@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Unavailable December 11 to 18 and December 22 to 26.

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto Media Relations
416-978-0100
Media.relations@utoronto.ca