Media Releases

Federal election experts

March 18, 2011

 

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues relating to the federal election.

Canada-US relations
Canada foreign relations
Canadian politics and political history
Robert Bothwell
Professor
Department of History
International Relations Program
Office: 416-946-8948
bothwell@chass.utoronto.ca

Canadian politics
Canadian public policy and administration
Provincial politics
Nelson Wiseman
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
Office: 416-978-3336
Home: 416-922-5595
nelson@chass.utoronto.ca

Canada-US relations
Canadian politics
Stephen Clarkson
Professor
University College, Political Economy
Office: 416-978-2682
Stephen.clarkson@utoronto.ca

Party politics
Liberal party of Canada
Canadian politics
Armed conflict resolution, peacekeeping, peacebuilding
International relations, diplomacy
Akaash Maharaj
Senior Resident
Massey College
Public Affairs and International Relations
Cell: 416-995-3275
Akaash@maharaj.org

Canadian foreign policy
Canadian/US relations
Issues around environment
John Kirton
Professor
Department of Political Science
Office: 416-946-8953
Cell: 416-456-4213
Assistant, Madeline Koch: 416-588-3833
John.kirton@utoronto.ca

Canadian politics, policy
Politics of agricultural and food policy
Grace Skogstad
Professor
Department of Political Science
Office: 416-978-8493
Skogstad@chass.utoronto.ca

Narrative and electoral strategy and message
Sandford Borins
Professor
Strategic Management
Home: 416-386-0440
borins@utsc.utoronto.ca
http://www.sandfordborins.com/

Canadian election law
Peter Rosenthal
Professor
Faculty of Law
rosent@math.utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Can only be reached through email

Canadian health policy, public/private mix
Raisa Berlin Deber
Professor
Department of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation
Department of Political Science
Office: 416-978-8366
Raisa.deber@utoronto.ca

Healthcare, taxation, child wellbeing and poverty
Mark Stabile
Director, School of Public Policy and Governance
Associate Professor
Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-4329
Mark.stabile@utoronto.ca

Homelessness, poverty, social policy
Housing, rental and subsidized housing
Neighbourhoods and gentrification
David Hulchanski
Professor; Associate Director, Research
Cities Centre
Faculty of Social Work
Office: 416-978-4093 or 416-978-1973
David.hulchanski@utoronto.ca

Political advertising and branding
David Dunne
Adjunct Professor of Marketing
Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-8643
Cell: 416-666-0687
dunne@rotman.utoronto.ca

Political advertising
David Soberman
Professor of Marketing
Canadian National Chair in Strategic Marketing
Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-5445
Cell: 416-420-4876
David.soberman@rotman.utoronto.ca

Conservative Party
Joseph Martin
Director, Canadian Business History
Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-4570
Cell: 647-405-9432
jmartin@rotman.utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Not available for television interviews

Electoral geography, geography of political attitudes and ideologies
City-suburban political differences
Urban social inequality, urban public policy
Dr. R. Alan Walks
Associate Professor
Cities Centre
Alan.walks@utoronto.ca
Skype ID: alan.walks
*NOTE: In Australia – only available via email or Skype. Please email to arrange interview.

Immigration-related issues
The immigrant vote
Phil Triadafilopoulos
Associate Professor of Political Science
Department of Social Sciences, UTSC
School of Public Policy and Governance
Office: 416-208-4813
Office: 416-978-7035
Cell: 416-346-8067
t.triadafilopoulos@utoronto.ca


For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto media relations
416-978-0100
Media.relations@utoronto.ca