Media Releases

2013 Federal Budget

March 20, 2013

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to the 2013 federal budget.

Accountability and performance indicators
Comparative analysis
Economics of education
Educational management and finance
Funding formulas
Dan Lang
Professor
St. George Campus
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Department of Geography
Department of Management (UTSC)
Department of Theory and Policy Studies in Education
Office: 416-978-1246
Mobile: 416-230-2684
dan.lang@utoronto.ca

Tax Policy and federalism
Economic issues of federalism

Michael Smart
Professor
St. George Campus
Department of Economics
Office: 416-978-5119
michael.smart@utoronto.ca

Industrial clusters (local, regional innovation systems)
Innovation, science, technology policy (Canada and Ontario)
Urban economic development
David Wolfe
Professor
St. George Campus
Munk School of Global Affairs
Department of Political Science, UTM
Office: 416-946-8922
Office: 905-828-5252
david.wolfe@utoronto.ca

Canadian labour history and relations
North American environmental history
Laurel MacDowell
Professor
St. George Campus
Department of Historical Studies, UTM
Department of History
Office: 416-978-1941
Office: 905-828-5243
Home: 416-487-5681
laurel.macdowell@utoronto.ca

Canadian and comparative public policy
Federalism and Canadian public policy
Women and the welfare state

Linda White
Associate Professor; Associate Chair & Director of Undergraduate Studies
St. George Campus
School of Public Policy and Governance
Department of Political Science
Office: 416-978-5784
lwhite@chass.utoronto.ca

Entrepreneurship, small business
Internationalization of small business
Reputation of new firms
Women entrepreneurs 

Rebecca Reuber
Professor
St.George Campus
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-5705
reuber@rotman.utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Email is best way to contact

Business and environmental politics
Canadian climate change policy and politics
Canadian environmental policy and politics 

Douglas Macdonald
Senior Lecturer
St.George Campus
Centre for Environment
Office: 416-978-1558
Home: 416-686-0773
douglas.macdonald@utoronto.ca

Canadian Government and Politics
Political parties and leaders
Provincial politics
Voting, elections, and public opinion 

Nelson Wiseman
Associate Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Arts and Science
Department of Political Science
Office: 416-978-3336
Home: 416-922-5595
nelson@chass.utoronto.ca

Child care
Feminist philosophy
Mothering 

Amy Mullin
Professsor, UTM Vice Principal Academic and Dean
U of T Mississauga Campus
Department of Philosophy (UTM)
Office: 905-828-3719
amy.mullin@utoronto.ca

Employment (especially of immigrants)
Immigration
Immigration policy, equity and multiculturalism policy
Management of diversity issues
Race and ethnic relations, human rights
Workplace issues 

Jeffrey Reitz
Professor
St.George Campus
Munk School of Global Affairs
Department of Public Policy & Governance
Department of Sociology
Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources
Office: 416-946-8993
Home: 416-465-5596
jeffrey.reitz@utoronto.ca

Citizenship, democracy
Globalization, neoliberal restructuring
Higher education, public education
Ideology of science
Political sociology of knowledge
Women’s studies, equity 

Jamie Magnusson
Associate Professor
St.George Campus
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Office: 416-978-1208
jmagnusson@oise.utoronto.ca

Gender and global culture
Gender and social policy
History, memory and social trauma/conflict
Immigration and refugee policy, practice
International human rights and justice
Torture and psychosocial trauma, genocide
Women, citizenship, migration, refugees 

Joan Simalchik
Coordinator and Professor
U of T Mississauga Campus
Women & Gender Studies Program
Department of Historical Studies
Office: 905-569-4491
joan.simalchik@utoronto.ca

-30-

For more information, contact:

University of Toronto media relations:
Tel: 416-978-0100
media.relations@utoronto.ca