Media Releases

Egypt experts

February 1, 2011

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues relating to the current unrest in Egypt.

Middle East conflicts
Strategic studies and conflict resolution

Aurel Braun
Professor
Department of Political Science
International Relations Program
Trinity College
St. George
Office: 416-946-8952 or 905-828-3923
Home: 416-787-3702
Cell: 416-844-5367
abraun@chass.utoronto.ca
Other languages: French, Hungarian, Romanian, Russian

Culture and politics of Egypt and Tunis
The Arab Awakening in historical perspective
Middle East history, culture and politics

Jens Peter Hanssen
Associate Professor
Department of History
Near & Middle Eastern Civilizations
St. George
Home: 416-530-5701
Cell: 416-888-9981
Jens.hanssen@utoronto.ca
Other languages: German, Arabic, French, Turkish

Global politics
Middle East

Janice Gross Stein
Director
Munk School of Global Affairs
Department of Political Science
St. George
NOTE: To arrange interviews, please contact Neil Desai, Director, Programs and Communications for the Munk School of Global Affairs:
Office: 416-946-5118
n.desai@utoronto.ca

Mass media of the Middle East
Nationalism and social movements in the Middle East
Media coverage of the events

Amir Hassanpour
Associate Professor (retired)
Near & Middle Eastern Civilizations
St. George
Home: 416-929-4089
amirhp@chass.utoronto.ca
amir.hassanpour@utoronto.ca

Modern Middle East
Mohamad Tavakoli-Targhi
Department of History
Near & Middle Eastern Civilizations
St. George
Office: 412-978-5039
Cell: 416-951-2495
m.tavakoli@utoronto.ca
Other languages: Persian

History of the Arab Middle East, 18th century to the present
James Reilly
Professor
Near & Middle Eastern Civilizations
Office: 416-978-8147
James.reilly@utoronto.ca

International relations
Arne Kislenko
Adjunct Professor
International Relations Programme
Trinity College
Munk School of Global Affairs
St. George
Office: 416-946-8973
Cell: 647-378-8710
Arne.kislenko@utoronto.ca

Internet censorship and surveillance
Internet politics

Ron Deibert
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
Citizen Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs
St. George
NOTE: To arrange interviews, please contact Neil Desai, Director, Programs and Communications for the Munk School of Global Affairs:
Office: 416-946-5118
n.desai@utoronto.ca

Use of digital media for political organizing
Media and popular culture studies
Social implications of technology
Social movements and political protests

Megan Boler
Associate Chair
OISE, Theory and Policy Studies
Onatio Institute for Studies in Eduation
St. George
Cell: 415-373-7376
mboler@oise.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Only available for print and phone interviews

International development, poverty, inequality, justice
Social and political movements
Feminist theory
Social movements
Women’s poverty

Angela Miles
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
St. George
Office: 416-978-0809
amiles@oise.utoronto.ca

Regime transitions
Authoritarianism
Democratization
Lucan Way
Association Chair
Department of Political Science
UTSC
Office: 416-946-8945
Home: 416-769-1076
lway@utsc.utoronto.ca

– 30 –

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto media relations
416-978-0100
Media.relations@utoronto.ca

The Arab Awakening in historical perspective