Media Releases

Earth Day Experts

April 12, 2011

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues relating to Earth Day, April 22.



Environmental ethics
Kerry William Bowman
Assistant Professor
Joint Centre for Bioethics
Department of Family and Community Medicine
St. George
Office: 416-586-4800, ext. 2163
Cell: 647-235-6159
Home: 416-532-4594
kerry.bowman@utoronto.ca

Environmental assessment and risk management
Solid waste management
Philip H. Byer
Professor
Department of Civil Engineering
Centre for Environment
St. George
Office: 416-978-5980
byer@civ.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Unavailable April 20-22

Forest genetics
Forest health
Forest tree genomes/genomics
Pulp and paper making
Tree growth
Wood formation
Malcolm Campbell
Professor; Vice-Principal, Research (UTSC)
Department of Cell & Systems Biology
St. George
Cell: 647-267-7714
Malcolm.campbell@utoronto.ca
Other languages: French

Environmental policy
Sustainable development
Pierre Desrochers
Associate Professor
Department of Geography
UTM
Office: 905-828-5206
Home: 519-605-0698
Pierre.desrochers@utoronto.ca
Other languages: French

Electricity: pricing and environmental effects
Global warming policies
Pollution control policy and economics
Waste management and recycling economics
Donald N. Dewees
Professor
Department of Economics
Faculty of Law
St. George
Office: 416-978-4473
Home: 416-766-2712
dewees@chass.utoronto.ca

Air pollution
Contaminant health risks
Contaminant movement
Urban pollution
Water pollution
Indoor pollution
Miriam L. Diamond
Professor
Department of Geography
Department of Chemical Engineering
Centre for Environment
St. George
Office: 416-978-1586
Home: 416-533-1303
Cell: 416-573-2977
miriam.diamond@utoronto.ca

Relationship of environment, climate change and air quality to human health
Kirsty Duncan
Adjunct Professor
Department of Geography
St. George
Home: 416-241-6326
Cell: 416-305-9082
kirsty.duncan@utoronto.ca

Urban and regional economics including real estate markets
Urban growth and regional development
Gilles Duranton
Professor and Noranda Chair in economics
Economics
St. George
Office: 416-978-2678
gilles.duranton@utoronto.ca

Arctic studies
Environmental history
Militarism and geopolitics
Urban culture
Matthew Farish
Professor
Department of Geography
Office: 416-978-6671
Cell: 416-834-6760
farish@geog.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Unavailable April 7 – 17

Global warming
Hydroenergy
Renewable energy
Danny Harvey
Professor
Department of Geography
St. George
Office: 416-978-1588
Home: 416-778-0670
harvey@geog.utoronto.ca
Other languages: French

Drinking water treatment
Pathogens and toxins in drinking water
Ron Hofmann
Assistant Professor
Department of Civil Engineering
St. George
Office: 416-946-7508
hofmann@ecf.utoronto.ca

Canada/US transboundary waters
Energy/water nexus
Water governance
Adele M. Hurley
Director
Program on Water Issues
Munk School of Global Affairs
St. George
Office: 416-946-8919
hurleyut@istar.ca

Environmental education
Hilary Inwood
Instructor
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
St. George
Office: 416-978-0257
hinwood@oise.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best

Fate, transport and impacts of atmospheric pollutants
Air and water pollution abatement technologies
Applied inorganic sulphur chemistry
Industrial waste treatment and utilization
Charles Q. Jia
Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry
Centre for Environment
St. George
Office: 416-946-3097
Home: 416-498-6541
Cell: 416-627-6166
cq.jia@utoronto.ca

Economics and sustainable forest management
Other-regarding preferences of Aboriginal people
Co-management of forest resources
Institutions, organizations and sustainability forest management
Forest tenure and timber pricing
Shashi Kant
Professor
Faculty of Forestry
Institute for Environmental Studies
St. George
Office: 416-978-6196
Home: 416-546-1861
Shashi.kant@utoronto.ca
Other languages: Hindi

Climate change
Energy production, conservation and measurement
Urban infrastructure (water supply and distribution)
Water supply
Bryan Karney
Professor
Department of Civil Engineering
St. George
Office: 416-978-7776
karney@ecf.utoronto.ca

Sustainable urban infrastructure
Christopher A. Kennedy
Professor
Department of Civil Engineering
St. George
Office: 416-978-5978
christopher.kennedy@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Email is best

Outdoor, experiential and environmental education
Gary Knowles
Professor
Adult Education and Counseling Psychology
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
St. George
Office: 416-978-0778
jgaryknowles@oise.utoronto.ca
NOTE: Unavailable after April 20

Bio energy
Biomass
Biomaterials
Biorefinery technologies
Pulp and paper
Recycling
Sally Krigstin
Assistant Professor
Faculty of Forestry
St. George
Office: 416-946-8507
Cell: 647-888-5297
sally.krigstin@utoronto.ca

Economic analysis of municipal water and wastewater projects
Ultraviolet disinfection (UV) of water and wastewater
Yuri Lawryshyn
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry
Office: 416-946-0576
Home: 705-252-6614
yuri.lawryshyn@utoronto.ca

Negative social and environmental impacts of major sporting events
Helen Jefferson Lenskyj
Professor Emerita
Sociology and Equity Studies in Education
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Faculty of Physical Education and Health
St. George
Office: 416-978-0447
Cell: 647-206-9345
helen.lenskyj@utoronto.ca

Environmental policy
Robert Logan
Professor Emeritus
Department of Physics
Home: 416-361-5928
logan@physics.utoronto.ca
Other languages: French, Spanish, Italian, Dutch, German, Latvian

Business and environmental politics
Canadian climate change policy and politics
Canadian environmental policy and politics
Douglas Macdonald
Senior lecturer
Centre for Environment
St. George
Office: 416-978-1558
Home: 416-686-0773
douglas.macdonald@utoronto.ca

Climate change and biodiversity
Effects of logging on wildlife
Rainforest and boreal forest canopy
Jay R. Malcolm
Associate Professor
Faculty of Forestry
St. George
Office: 416-978-0142
Cell: 416-406-5219
jay.malcolm@utoronto.ca
Other languages: Portuguese

Gas and oil politics, arctic resources, non-renewable resources
Natural disasters: tsunamis, floods, landslides, volcanoes, earthquakes
Natural hazards: volcanoes, earthquakes, floods, landslides
Plate tectonics
Andrew D. Miall
Professor
Department of Geology
St. George
Office: 416-978-8841
Home: 416-236-9264
Cell: 416-588-6562
miall@geology.utoronto.ca

Contaminant transport
Environmental contamination
Mercury pollution
Hydrology
Water quality
Wetlands
Carl Mitchell
Assistant Professor
Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences
UTSC
Office: 416-208-2744
Cell: 647-282-7627
carl.mitchell@utoronto.ca
NOTE: Unavailable after April 21

Nuclear waste and radiation safety
Pekka K. Sinervo, FRSC
Professor
Senior Vice-President, Research
Department of Physics
The Canadian Institute for Advanced Research
St. George
Office: 416-978-3383 or 416-978-5270
Cell: 647-283-3074
pekka.sinervo@utoronto.ca
Other languages: Finnish

Invasive species
Forest health and biodiversity
Sandra M. Smith
Professor
Faculty of Forestry
St. George
Office: 416-978-5482
s.smith.a@utoronto.ca

Atmospheric measurements
Climate change
Ozone depletion
Remote sounding of the atmosphere (ground, balloons, satellites)
Spectroscopy
Tropospheric pollution
Kimberly Strong
Professor
Department of Physics
St. George
Office: 416-946-3217 or 416-978-2933
strong@atmosp.physics.utoronto.ca

Aging processes in trees
Climate change effects on forests
Forest canopies
Sugar maple
Tree physiology
Tree rings
Tropical forests
Sean Thomas
Professor
Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) Forests and Environmental Change
Faculty of Forestry
St. George
Office: 416-978-1044
sc.thomas@utoronto.ca
Other languages: French, Malay, (also some German and some Swahili)
NOTE: Unavailable after April 16

Environmental economics and regulation
Urban sprawl
Matthew Turner
Associate Professor
Department of Economics
St. George
Office: 416-978-5110
mturner@utoronto.ca

Disaster preparedness
Carin Wittnich
Professor
Department of Surgery
Department of Physiology
Institute of Medical Science
St. George
Office: 416-978-7744
c.wittnich@utoronto.ca

Environmental impact of aviation
David W. Zingg
Professor; Director; Canada Research Chair in Computational Aerodynamics
Institute for Aerospace Studies
St. George
Office: 416-667-7709
dwz@oddjob.utias.utoronto.ca

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto media relations
416-978-0100
Media.relations@utoronto.ca