Media Releases

Connecticut School Shooting

December 14, 2012

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to the school shooting in Connecticut.

General psychology
Conscious versus unconscious (habit) processes
Human memory 

Steve Joordens
Full Professor
U of T Scarborough Campus
Department of Psychology
Office: 416-287-7469
Home: 416-284-2141
Cell: 647-391-2141
joordens@utsc.utoronto.ca

Child abuse and neglect
Child, adolescent trauma (violence-related)
Domestic violence, treatment of offenders 

Katreena Scott
Assistant Professor
St.George Campus
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Department of Human Development and Applied Psychology
Office: 416-978-0971
kscott@oise.utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Only available via email

Child/adolescent depression and suicide
Impact of media on children/adolescents
Normal/abnormal development in children/adolescents
Personality disorders in children/adolescents

Marshall S. Korenblum
Associate Professor
St.George Campus
Department of Medicine
Department of Psychiatry
Office: 416-972-1935 x3316
mkorenblum@hincksdellcrest.org

Public response to media coverage
Quality and impact of media coverage
Jeffrey Dvorkin
Senior Lecturer
University of Toronto Scarborough
Journalism Program
Office: 416-287-7163
Cell: 647-401-5330
Home: 416-537-2892
jeffrey.dvorkin@utoronto.ca

Forensic psychology
Human aggression
Neuropsychological correlates of fitness to stand trial
Assessment of criminal responsibility

David Nussbaum
Assistant Professor
U of T Scarborough
Department of Psychology
Office: 416-208-4825
Office: 416-208-4836 (Alt)
dnussbaum@utsc.utoronto.ca

-30-

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto Media Relations
Tel: 416-978-0100
Media.relations@utoronto.ca