Media Releases

Back-to-school Education Experts

August 18, 2010

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to education in the weeks leading up to back-to-school time.

Coping with back to school stress
Dr. Mark Berber
Lecturer
Department of Psychiatry
Office: 905-472-5733
Email: mberber@cnsmedicine.com

Safe schools, conflict resolution
Citizenship/democratic education

Kathy Bickmore
Associate Professor
Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
Ontario Institute for Studies in
Education
Office: 416-978-0237
Email: k.bickmore@utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Available after September 1, 2010

Continuing education (in general and also for international
Professionals/new Canadians, women, business owners, non-degree holders)
Career development
Business education
Lifelong learning (recent grads)
Older adults – boomers and senior citizens
Larger community engagement with higher education
via continuing education
Intersection between degree and post-degree education

Marilynn Booth
Director
School of Continuing Studies
Office: 416-978-2604
Email: marilynn.booth@utoronto.ca

Homework
Adjusting to school
Survival guide for parents
Building the parent teacher team

Linda Cameron
Associate Professor
Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
Ontario Institute of Studies in Education
Email: l.cameron@utoronto.ca
Phone: 519-599-7223 or 416-489-2822 (both home numbers)

A child’s first day of school
Early learning in kindergarten

Carl Corter
Professor
Institute of Child Study
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Office: 416-934-4502
Email: carl.corter@utoronto.ca

Private schools
Arts high schools and specialized programs in general
Arts in education in general

Rubén Gaztambide-Fernández
Assistant Professor
Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
Office: 416-978-0194
Email: rgaztambide@oise.utoronto.ca
Availability: Unavailable August 23 – September 6
Other languages: Spanish

Nutrition for students
Dr. David Jenkins
Professor and Canada Research Chair
Department of Nutritional Sciences
Office: 416-867-7475
Email: cyril.kendall@utoronto.ca

Investing for students
Finances & budgets

Eric Kirzner
John H. Watson Chair in Value Investing
Rotman School of Management
Office: 416-978-3426
Email: kirzner@rotman.utoronto.ca

Peer pressure, making friends,
Social skills, adolescent
Depression and suicide
Stress of academic pressure
Service delivery
Manpower shortages
Liaison between professionals

Marshall Korenblum
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry;
Psychiatrist-in-chief
Hincks-Dellcrest Centre
for Children and Families
Office: 416-972-1935 ext. 3316
Email:mkorenblum@hincksdellcrest.org
*NOTE: Available after August 16
** Can only speak about children aged12 and above

Public attitudes towards education
D.W. Livingstone,
Professor Emeritus
Department of Sociology and Equity Studies in Education
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Office: 416-978-0015
Other: 905-271-2755
Email: dlivingstone@oise.utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Unavailable from Aug. 18 – Sep. 4

High school to university transition
Separation anxiety for parents and families
Demographics/attitudes/experiences of the millennial generation
Choosing post-secondary education as a ‘next step’ in a student’s education
Transition for non-traditional students (older students, first-generation students, student from under-represented populations)
Moving into residence and living away from home for the first time

Chris McGrath
Assistant Dean
Student Affairs
University of Toronto Mississauga
Office: 905-569-4724
Email: chris.mcgrath@utoronto.ca

Bullying (from the perspective of the victimized child)
Cyber bullying

Faye Mishna
Interim Dean
Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work
Office: 416-978-3255
Cell: 416-910-1385
Email: f.mishna@utoronto.ca

Adult education and public policy
Critical race and gender theories
Immigrant women and work
Citizenship, democracy, and the state
Women in the middle east
Women, war, violence and learning

Shahrzad Mojab
Professor
Department of Adult Education
and Counselling Psychology
Ontario Institute for Studies in
Education
Office: 416-978-0829
Email: shahrzad.mojab@utoronto.ca

Sleeping tips for back to school
Sleep disorders and sleep neurology

John Peever
Assistant Professor
Department of Cell and Systems Biology
Office: 416-946-5564
Cell: 647-207-7920
Email: john.peever@utoronto.ca

A child’s first day of school
kindergarten and grade 1)
Teacher/parent partnerships in the early years
Early french immersion

Janette Pelletier, PhD
Director, Institute of Child Study
Associate Professor of Human Development and Applied Psychology
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Office: 416-934-4506
Email: janette.pelletier@utoronto.ca
*NOTE: prefers print but can also do TV and radio

E-commerce
Internet marketing
Teaching online
Technology and teaching
Podcasting, blogging

Tim Richardson
Lecturer
Division of Management
UTSC and UTM
Office: 416-491-5050 ext. 7534
Cell: 416-677-3467
Home: 705-228-8731
Email: richardson@utsc.utoronto.ca

Sexual diversity (LGBTQ)
Students coming to campus
Transitioning from high school to university/small town to big city
Residence and off-campus living

Jude Tate
Sexual and Gender Diversity Officer
Office: 416-946-5624
www.sgdo.utoronto.ca
Email: j.tate@utoronto.ca

Peer relationships, self esteem in adolescents and children with ADHD
Psychological assessment
Special education
Learning disabilities

Judith Wiener
Professor
Department of Human Development and
Applied Psychology
Ontario Institute for Studies in
Education
Office: 416-978-0935
Email: jwiener@oise.utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Available August 17-26 and after September 7

For more information, please contact:
University of Toronto Media Relations
416-978-0100
Media.relations@utoronto.ca