Media Releases

9/11 TERRORIST ATTACKS EXPERTS

August 30, 2011

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues relating to the terrorist attacks in the United States on September 11, 2001.

Terrorism experts

National security
Terrorism
Arne Kislenko
Adjunct Professor
International Relations Program
Trinity College
Munk School of Global Affairs
St. George
Office: 416-979-5000 x. 6206
Cell: 647-378-8710
arne.kislenko@utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Cell phone is best way to contact.

Psychology of terrorism, social conflict
Jordan Peterson
Professor
Department of Psychology
St. George
Office: 416-978-7619
Cell: 647-390-2132
Home: 905-257-0070
jordanbpeterson@gmail.com

Anti-terrorism law
Kent Roach
Professor
Faculty of Law
St. George
Office: 416-946-5645
Home: 905-257-0070
kent.roach@utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Not available for television interviews.

Terrorism and counter-terrorism
Wesley Wark
Associate Professor
Munk School of Global Affairs
Department of History
St. George
Office: 416-946-8954
Cell: 613-513-9041
wkwark@trinity.utoronto.ca

Global politics
Middle East
Janice Gross Stein
Director
Munk School of Global Affairs
Department of Political Science
St. George
Office: 416-946-8900
Office 2: 416-946-8908
j.stein@utoronto.ca
Other languages: French


Psychology experts

Anxiety disorders
Cognitive behavioural psychotherapy (CBT)
Depression
Phobias
Stress management
Mark Berber
Lecturer
Department of Psychiatry
UTM
Office: 905-472-5733
Cell: 416-801-0991
mberber@cnsmedicine.com

Grief counselling
Stress Management
Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Mel Borins
Associate Professor
Department of Family and Community Medicine
Office: 416-533-6488
Home: 416-782-4530
melborins@hotmail.com

Emotional regulation and coping
Emotional intelligence

Stephane Cote
Assistant Professor
Rotman School of Management
Department of Psychology
St. George
Office: 416-978-5704
scote@rotman.utoronto.ca
Other languages: French
*NOTE: Email is best way to contact.

Anxiety
Cognitive Behaviour Therapy (CBT)
Depression
Phobias
Worry
Greg Dubord
Department of Psychiatry
Temerty Temerty Faculty of Medicine
Toronto Center for Cognitive Therapy
St. George
Office: 416-777-6922 ext. 2
greg.dubord@cbt.ca
greg.dubord@gmail.com

Psychological counseling methods
Psychological interventions, psychotherapy
Psychotherapy and support groups

Mary Jane Esplen
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry
Temerty Temerty Faculty of Medicine
St. George
Office: 416-340-3024
Home: 416-922-5418
Cell: 647-669-5580
mesplen@uhnres.utoronto.ca

Treatment of PTSD, trauma and depression
Crisis response
Parenting and relationship stress, problems, treatment
Douglas Saunders
Assistant Professor
Dalla Lana School of Public Health
St. George
Office: 416-597-2614 ext. 2
douglas.saunders@utoronto.ca

Mental health and emotions
Stress and health
Scott Schieman
Professor
Department of Sociology
St. George
Office: 416-946-5905
scott.schieman@utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Email is best way to contact.

History, memory and social trauma/conflict
Torture and psychosocial trauma, genocide
Joan G. Simalchik
Coordinator and Professor
Study of Women and Gender Program
UTM, Division of Social Sciences
St. George
Office: 905-569-4491
Cell: 416-988-7953
joan.simalchik@utoronto.ca

Post 9/11 patriotism and dissent
U.S. politics and social movements
Social movements and political protests
Media representation of US military
Megan Boler
Professor
Theory and Policy Studies
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
416-978-1231
megan.boler@utoronto.ca


Religion experts

The psychology of religion
Self-control
Michael Inzlicht
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychology
St. George
Office: 416-208-4826
Cell: 416-820-2395
michael.inzlicht@utoronto.ca

Politics and religion
Biblical studies
Gordon F. Davies
Head, Languages, Arts and Science
School of Continuing Studies
St. George
Office: 416-978-5951
Home: 416-465-9317
Other languages: French, Italian
gf.davies@utoronto.ca

Islamic law, history and politics
Religious fundamentalism
Law and religion
Treatment of non-Muslims under Islamic law
Anver Emon
Assistant Professor
Faculty of Law
St. George
Office: 416-946-0832
Home: 416-429-2876
anver.emon@utoronto.ca

Islamic religion
Islamic thought (theology, philosophy, mysticism)
Qu-ran commentary
Shi’I Islam
Sufism
Todd Lawson
Associate Professor
Department of Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations
St. George
todd.lawson@utoronto.ca
Skype: proftoddlawson
*NOTE: Only available via email and/or Skype.

Religion and politics
Religion in the public sphere
Religious conflict and violence
Secularism
Evangelical Christianity

Dr. Ruth Marshall
Assistant Professor
Department and Centre for the Study of Religion
Department of Political Science
Office: 416-978-0241
Cell: 416-839-9295
ruth.marshall.@utoronto.ca

Religion in East European countries (Ukraine, Russia)
Frank Sysyn
Head of Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies
Department of Slavic Languages and Literature
St. George
Office: 416-978-2673
Home: 416-413-1730
f.sysym@utoronto.ca

Islam
Mohamad Tavakoli-Targhi
Professor
Department of History
Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations
St. George
Office: 416-978-5039
Home: 416-767-2064
Cell: 416-951-2495
Skype: 1-201-984-1336
m.tavakoli@utoronto.ca
Other languages: Persian


Air quality/Health

Air pollution
Murray Thomson
Professor
Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry
St. George
Cell: 416-530-3391
Thomson@mie.utoronto.ca
Other languages: French

Relationship of environment, climate change and air quality to human health
Kirsty Duncan
Adjunct Professor
Department of Geography
St. George
Home: 416-241-6326
Kirsty.duncan@utoronto.ca

Air and water pollution abatement technologies
Charles Q. Jia
Associate Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry
Institute for Environmental Studies
St. George
Office: 416-946-3097
Home: 416-498-6541
Cell: 416-627-6166
cqjia@chem-eng.utoronto.ca


For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto media relations
416-978-0100
media.relations@utoronto.ca