Media Releases

2014 Provincial Budget

April 29, 2014

The following is a list of University of Toronto experts who can comment on a variety of issues related to the provincial budget.

Canadian macroeconomics
Jack Carr
Professor
St. George Campus
Department of Economics
Office: 416-978-5396
Home: 416-445-8251
jcarr@chass.utoronto.ca 

Canadian economic policy
Canadian economy, economic forecasts and policy

Peter Dungan
Adjunct Associate Professor
St. George Campus
Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Department of Economics
Institute for Policy Analysis
Office: 416-978-4182
pdungan@rotman.utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Unavailable the night of the budget announcement. 

Accountability and performance indicators
Comparative analysis
Economics of education
Educational management and finance
Funding formulas

Dan Lang
Professor
St. George Campus
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Department of Geography
Department of Management (UTSC)
Department of Theory and Policy Studies in Education
Office: 416-978-1246
Mobile: 416-230-2684
dan.lang@utoronto.ca 

Canadian labour history and relations
North American environmental history

Laurel MacDowell
Professor
St. George Campus
Department of Historical Studies, UTM
Department of History
Office: 416-978-1941
Office: 905-828-5243
Home: 416-487-5681
laurel.macdowell@utoronto.ca 

Canadian Government and Politics
Political parties and leaders
Provincial politics
Voting, elections, and public opinion

Nelson Wiseman
Associate Professor
St.George Campus
Faculty of Arts and Science
Department of Political Science
Office: 416-978-3336
Home: 416-922-5595
nelson@chass.utoronto.ca
*NOTE: Best reached by phone.

Child care
Feminist philosophy
Mothering

Amy Mullin
Professsor, UTM Vice Principal Academic and Dean
U of T Mississauga Campus
Department of Philosophy (UTM)
Office: 905-828-3719
amy.mullin@utoronto.ca

Immigration
Immigration employment
Multiculturalism policy
Management of diversity isssues

Race and ethnic relations, human rights
Jeffrey Reitz
Professor
St.George Campus
Munk School of Global Affairs
Department of Public Policy & Governance
Department of Sociology
Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources
Office: 416-946-8993
Home: 416-465-5596
jeffrey.reitz@utoronto.ca

Education for immigrants with professional qualifications
Pharmacy practice
Teaching and learning in health professions

Zubin Austin
Assistant Professor
St.George Campus
Leslie L. Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Office: 416-978-0186
zubin.austin@utoronto.ca

Business and environmental politics
Canadian climate change policy and politics
Canadian environmental policy and politics

Douglas Macdonald
Senior Lecturer
St.George Campus
Centre for Environment
Office: 416-978-1558
Home: 416-686-0773
douglas.macdonald@utoronto.ca

Canadian and comparative public policy
Federalism and Canadian public policy
Women and the welfare state

Linda White
Associate Professor; Associate Chair & Director of Undergraduate Studies
St. George Campus
School of Public Policy and Governance
Department of Political Science
Office: 416-978-5784
lwhite@chass.utoronto.ca

-30-

For more information, please contact:

University of Toronto media relations
Tel: 416-978-0100
media.relations@utoronto.ca